Nursing & Allied Health Databases
- CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window CINAHL is a database of citations and abstracts for journal articles and other materials on nursing, communication sciences and disorders, and allied health sciences. This authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers provides indexing for 2,960 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health with more than 2,000,000 records dating back to 1981.
- Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window This comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices. Full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia; perfect for researchers at all levels with more than 1,000 medical journals, periodicals, and articles from more than 2,200 general-interest publications, medical newspapers, newsletters and news feeds and hundreds of streaming videos.
- Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window Health Source covers a wide variety of subjects, including information on specific diseases as well as overall health topics, including fitness, nutrition, diabetes, aging, women’s health, children’s health and more. Access to Clinical Reference Systems reports, in both English and Spanish, and Merriam-Webster’s Medical Desk Dictionary. This rich collection of consumer health information provides access to full-text consumer health magazines, and includes searchable full text for up-to-date health pamphlets.
- Health Source: Nursing and Academic Edition This link opens in a new window This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. It includes nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, and medical law. It also features the AHFS (American Hospital Formulary Service® Drug Information) Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
- ICE Video Library (with Stroke Help Collection) This link opens in a new window ICE (International Clinical Educators) has been a leader in healthcare education since its founding in 1983. ICE Learning Center Videos are professionally filmed and feature actual patients and clinicians demonstrating practical and effective treatment ideas, including including acute care, skilled nursing, outpatient, home health and ICU. This video collection includes StrokeHelp: Functional Treatment Ideas & Strategies and StrokeHelp: Treatment Strategies in Acute Care.
- Interactive Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window This database allows you to examine virtual 3D dissections and immerse yourself in interactive research. You can separate over 4,300 anatomical structures from the body to reveal layers and anatomical relationships, and visualize more than 13,500 landmarks. You can also isolate different regions and systems, zoom in, zoom out, and rotate areas as often as necessary to fully comprehend critical information. Artistic renderings provide detailed visual clarity. The database can be used for in-classroom demonstrations and help with homework or research assignments.
- MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window MEDLINE with Full Text provides the authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences found on MEDLINE. The database includes full text for over 1,470 journals and citations for over 4,800 biomedical journals with subjects like Biomedicine, Pre-Clinical Sciences, Behavioral Sciences, Bioengineering, Health Policy Development, Life Sciences, Communication Disorders, Population Biology, and Reproductive Biology.
General Subject Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
- EBSCOhost Espanol This link opens in a new window Spanish-language interface to select and search EBSCO databases. Información confiable para todo tipo de investigación. Con bases de datos de calidad y funciones de búsqueda, EBSCOhost ayuda a todo tipo de investigadores a encontrar rápidamente la información que necesitan.
- JSTOR Archival Journal & Primary Source Collection This link opens in a new window The JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection contains all licensed JSTOR archival journals and primary sources content in a single collection, including Archive Journal Collections and thematic collections; specifically, it includes Arts & Sciences I – XV, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Jewish Studies, Life Sciences, Public Health, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, and Sustainability journal collections. It also contains four primary source collections, 19th Century British Pamphlets, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and Global Plants. This collection contains 2,877 high quality academic journals from across a wide range of disciplines and hundreds of thousands of primary source items.
- MainFile This link opens in a new window MainFile multi-disciplinary database with coverage of all aspects of academic study and general interest subject areas. Includes more than 4,300 full-text magazines and journals and nearly 250 full-text newspapers and newswires, and over 2,900 full-text reference books and encyclopedias. A general interest database with full-text magazine articles, newspapers, and books. Covers a wide variety of subjects such as health, education, current events, technology and business.
- MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window MasterFILE Premier provides full text for magazines, reference books, and primary source documents and an Image Collection with photos, maps & flags. MasterFILE Premier provides full text for over 1,800 general interest, business, consumer health, general science, and multicultural periodicals. In addition, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 2,500 periodicals.
- ResearchIT CT OneSearch for Colleges & Universities This link opens in a new window Use this link to search all of Connecticut State Library researchIT CT resources all at once. View a complete list of all researchIT CT resources available to you including newspapers, magazines, journals, and more at this link.
- SAGE Campus This link opens in a new window Online Learning for skills and research methods. 37 courses on topics, science, research, critical thinking. Sage Campus supports the teaching and learning of skills and research methods through 280+ hours of structured online learning. The online courses are self-paced and instructor-led, comprising an engaging mix of Sage-quality content, video, interactives, and formative assessments. The topics cover critical skills and research methods for across all stages of academic study; navigating information, data literacy, research skills, data science skills, and getting published. You must create an account to log into this resource.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and web sources with tools to track, analyze, and visualize research in the scientific research area. Elsevier Scopus curators seek out and ensure that only the most trusted, peer-reviewed scientific articles, books and conference papers are available on Scopus.
- Very Short Introductions Online This link opens in a new window Oxford's Very Short Introductions offers concise and original introductions to a wide range of subjects. Each volume provides provocative, balanced, and complete discussions of the central issues in a given topic, giving a readable evolution of the subject in question. This includes free access to subject related blogs and podcasts.
APA Style Guide
Searching Guides
Nursing Research Videos
CINAHL Advanced Search Features:
Nursing Videos in Films on Demand