Explore Topic Ideas
Before you begin your research you must choose a topic. You can identify areas of interest by doing some initial exploration, then refine your topic prior to searching. Some useful resources to help you think about possible research topics include:
- Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window Featuring a dynamic design and a wealth of features, Issues & Controversies helps researchers understand today's crucial issues by exploring hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture. Issues and Controversies provides up-to-date, in-depth and objective information on prominent and hotly debated issues. It combines objective analysis with clear explanations of opposing points of view. Chronologies, illustrations, maps, tables, sidebars, bibliographies and contact information augment the balanced, accurate coverage of current and historical events.
Hint! Browse topics related to social conditions by scrolling down the homepage to "All Issues by Subject" and selecting one of these subjects depending on what part of the book was of most interest to you: "Crime, Law, and judicial System" "Government and Politics" or "Military, War, and Terrorism". On the following page you will see a list of associated topics, select any of these to be directed to a page with background information and resources on the topic.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Credo Reference is a general knowledge database providing articles, images, charts, maps and other materials on thousands of topics. With 750+ searchable, full-text titles, Credo Reference places particular emphasis on subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also included are more than 1,100 short reference videos, more than 475,000 high-resolution art images, photographs, and maps across all subject areas.
Hint! Not sure where to start? Consider browsing the resources under "Political Activism" in the "Humanities" box on the homepage.
Example Topics
- Coding
- Women in STEM
- Overlooked Women in History
- Women and the Military