Library: Naugatuck Valley Art: Articles & Databases

Image Databases

Artstor This link opens in a new window Artstor features millions of high-quality images and media from some of the world's top photo archives, museums, libraries, scholars, and artists, including rare materials not available anywhere else.   Artstore has Open Access collections from partner museums freely available to all, in areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and educational purposes.  All content in Artstor is rights-cleared for education and research.  
Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window The Grove Dictionary of Art is the unsurpassed authority on all aspects of the visual arts, with 30,000 signed and peer-reviewed articles contributed by nearly 7,000 international scholars. Grove Art features entries on artists, architects, craftsmen, patrons, movements, locations, and periods, as well as bibliographies for further research and thousands of searchable images made available through partnerships with museums, galleries, and other outstanding arts organizations.

Films On Demand This link opens in a new window A streaming video service that provides access to over 38,000 instructional and documentary videos from producers such as Films for the Humanities & Sciences, HBO, CNBC News, ABC News, PBS, BBC, Cengage Learning, Meridian, and others.
Kanopy BASE Collection This link opens in a new window A collection of over 10,000 educational and feature films and documentaries in the Kanopy BASE collection range from core curricular subjects like Race and Class Studies, Sociology and Education, to subjects that cater to the whole student like Mental Health, Psychology and Health and Fitness. Many films on Kanopy—including from iconic suppliers like the BBC, NEON, Samuel Goldwyn Films, HISTORY, A&E, First Run Features Kino Lorber and IFC Films—are unavailable elsewhere.