Spotlight
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, Manuscripts, Archives and Rare Books Division, The New York Public Library. "[Oh, hail Columbia! Happy Land! The cradle land of Liberty ! Where none but negroes bear the brand, Or feel the lash of slavery!]" The New York Public Library Digital Collections. 1836 - 1844.
What are Reference Works?
Reference works are authoritative resources that provide facts and/or summaries of information. They should be used in your research process to gain a quick overview or summary of your topic (encyclopedias); define unfamiliar terms (dictionaries); and find geographic information (atlases and maps). Many U.S. government websites provide reference resources with statistics for quantitative support of your research topic arguments. Reference works are usually considered Tertiary Resources. They are used as a jumping off point for further research.
Search Norwalk Library Catalog
Search for books, ebooks, articles, Journals, and media.
More Search Options
Online Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
- CQ Press Library This link opens in a new window CQ Press provides the reference resources for research in American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs. Includes access to the following collections: Congress Collection, CQ Almanac, CQ Researcher Plus Archive, CQ Magazine, Encyclopedia of American Government, Politics in America, Public Affairs Collection, Supreme Court Collection, Supreme Court Yearbook, Voting and Elections Collection.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Credo Reference is a general knowledge database providing articles, images, charts, maps and other materials on thousands of topics. With 750+ searchable, full-text titles, Credo Reference places particular emphasis on subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also included are more than 1,100 short reference videos, more than 475,000 high-resolution art images, photographs, and maps across all subject areas.
- Encyclopedia Britannica Academic - Norwalk Campus This link opens in a new window Britannica is a well-respected brand and has a long tradition of providing accurate and educational information on just about any subject you can think of. We pride ourselves in encouraging all our customers, young and old, to discover more about the world we live in.
- SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window Authoritative eReference Titles in the Social Sciences. SAGE Knowledge includes an expansive range of SAGE eBook and eReference content, including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, as well as business case studies, and streaming video.
