Library: Norwalk Exercise Science: Articles

Library Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.  Indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window This comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.  Full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia; perfect for researchers at all levels with more than 1,000 medical journals, periodicals, and articles from more than 2,200 general-interest publications, medical newspapers, newsletters and news feeds and hundreds of streaming videos. 
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window Health Source covers a wide variety of subjects, including information on specific diseases as well as overall health topics, including fitness, nutrition, diabetes, aging, women’s health, children’s health and more. Access to Clinical Reference Systems reports, in both English and Spanish, and Merriam-Webster’s Medical Desk Dictionary. This rich collection of consumer health information provides access to full-text consumer health magazines, and includes searchable full text for up-to-date health pamphlets.
Interactive Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window This database allows you to examine virtual 3D dissections and immerse yourself in interactive research. You can separate over 4,300 anatomical structures from the body to reveal layers and anatomical relationships, and visualize more than 13,500 landmarks. You can also isolate different regions and systems, zoom in, zoom out, and rotate areas as often as necessary to fully comprehend critical information. Artistic renderings provide detailed visual clarity. The database can be used for in-classroom demonstrations and help with homework or research assignments.
In Context: Science This link opens in a new window From climate change to genetically modified organisms to fracking, the wealth of content in Gale In Context: Science spans the fields of biology, chemistry, physics, earth and environmental science, health and medicine, and math and technology. Go beyond research projects and choose from over 350 experiments in 200 entries to assign during everyday instruction, enabling hands-on learning anywhere students have online access.
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Science Reference Center provides full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, reference books and high-quality videos. The database also contains science experiments, curriculum-aligned lesson plans, and a vast image collection.

What Is an "Open-Source" Database?

"Open-source" is widely defined as computer resources that are free to the public, as opposed to "subscription" or "proprietary" sources. Therefore an open-source database would be a freely searchable storage bank of information on the Internet. Listed below are a couple open-source databases that offer authoritative information on writing research papers.
Please remember to evaluate all information that you collect - no matter what the source.

Journal of Exercise Physiology-online
"The Journal of Exercise Physiology online, published by the American Society of Exercise Physiologists, is a professional peer reviewed Internet-based journal devoted to original research in exercise physiology." - American Society of Exercise Physiologists

Norwalk Campus Library

Norwalk Exercise Science

Library Databases

What Is an "Open-Source" Database?