Before diving into your research, it’s important to choose a topic that is both interesting and researchable. Start by exploring general ideas, then gradually narrow your focus before beginning your search for sources.

Here are some tips to guide you through the topic exploration process:

• Think about subjects that interest you or connect to your personal experiences.

• Scan the news or browse class materials for current issues or debates.

• Ask yourself: What do I want to learn more about? What questions do I have?

Use the Following Tools to Discover Topic Ideas

These databases are great starting points for exploring potential research topics and background information:

Opposing Viewpoints offers material to support differing views and help you develop critical thinking skills on thousands of current social issues by providing a pro/con discussion of subjects through the use of articles, book chapters, government reports, news transcripts, and many other types of publications. After exploring its pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more, you will be more prepared to argue any side of the issue.

Issues and Controversies will help you explore the most current problems we face today. Its straightforward presentation of the key facts, arguments, history, and current context of today’s most important and timely issues makes the database an ideal resource for research papers, debate preparation, and persuasive writing assignments. Not sure where to start? Browse topics under the "Popular Issues" and "All Issues by Subject" sections on the homepage. After selecting a topic you will be directed to a page with background information and resources on your selection.

TOPICsearch is a current events database covering social, political, and economic issues as well as scientific discoveries and other popular topics. The database contains full text of over one hundred thousand articles from more than a thousand diverse sources including international and regional newspapers, periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information. The search options allow you to select particular current events and popular topics from drop-down menus.

Credo Reference provides access to thousands of articles from reference sources such as encyclopedias and dictionaries.  It is a great place to find overviews and background information on your research topic.  The articles come from highly respectable reference sources. You can use these types of sources to gain knowledge on the subject and to help you focus or narrow your topic.. Not sure where to start? Consider browsing the topics under "Research Popular Topics" section on the database's homepage, which breaks topics down into three popular categories: Humanities, Health & Medicine, and Environmental Sciences. After selecting a topic  to explore, you will be presented with definitions, basic concepts surrounding your topic, and a mind map that illustrates how your topic is connected to others.

The Encyclopedia Britannica contains carefully edited articles on all major topics. It fits the ideal purpose of a reference work as a place to get started, or to refer back to as you read and write. The articles in Britannica are written by expert authors who are both identifiable and credible. This database is a good place for you to get an overview of your topic at the beginning of an inquiry. Instead of searching through masses of websites, you will find reliable, up to date information

Explore additional databases by subject.