Art & Music
- Artstor This link opens in a new window Artstor features millions of high-quality images and media from some of the world's top photo archives, museums, libraries, scholars, and artists, including rare materials not available anywhere else. Artstore has Open Access collections from partner museums freely available to all, in areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and educational purposes. All content in Artstor is rights-cleared for education and research.
- Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window The Grove Dictionary of Art is the unsurpassed authority on all aspects of the visual arts, with 30,000 signed and peer-reviewed articles contributed by nearly 7,000 international scholars. Grove Art features entries on artists, architects, craftsmen, patrons, movements, locations, and periods, as well as bibliographies for further research and thousands of searchable images made available through partnerships with museums, galleries, and other outstanding arts organizations.
- Grove Music Online This link opens in a new window Grove Music Online is the world’s premier online music encyclopedia, offering comprehensive coverage of music, musicians, music-making, and music scholarship. The online edition includes updated versions of previous Grove publications as well as hundreds of articles commissioned specifically for the online edition, including The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The Norton Grove Dictionary of Women Composers, The Grove Dictionary of American Music, The Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments.
Biographies
- American National Biography This link opens in a new window The American National Biography provides portraits of more than 19,000 men and women who have helped shaped the nation. Specialized collections of related biographies explore the diversity of American history including Black History, Women's History, and Hispanic Heritage. Themed research guides provide editorially curated article lists on subjects such as American Literature and the Civil Rights Movement
- Biography Reference Bank (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window This resource includes almost 1 million original biographical profiles, 700,000 full-text articles, including the following collections: Current Biography, New Grove Music, New Grove Artists, and H.W. Wilson Biographical series (Junior Authors, Composers, World Authors), Library of North American Bio Series. Search result limiters include occupation/activity, gender, place of origin, birth day or month, and lifespan.
- Biography Reference Center This link opens in a new window This resource contains many of the top-ranked biographical reference collections and magazines. It offers a comprehensive collection of full-text biographies, as well as thousands of unique narrative biographies. More than 390,000 reliable, full-text biographies and the complete run of Biography Today and Biography Magazine are available to browse. Advanced searching tools include name, date of birth or death, profession, or country of origin, portrait or genre. You may also search by important historical eras, major wars, and historic leaders, Nobel Peace Prize Laureates, Musicians, Inventors, and other important roles.
- In Context: Biography This link opens in a new window Built on a foundation of more than 640,000 biographical entries, Gale In Context: Biography covers international figures from all time periods and areas of study. The database also includes full-text articles from nearly 250 periodicals. Search for people based on one or more personal facts such as birth and death years and places, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender, or combine criteria to create highly-targeted custom search results.
Business
- ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window This collection features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as The Economist and Sloan Management Review, country- and industry-focused reports and major news sources like the Wall Street Journal. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world, including expert market information and influential business news.
- Business Insights This link opens in a new window Gale Business: Insights empowers users with the necessary tools to research and effectively interpret international business topics. Access more than 430,000 detailed company profiles with company financial data, in-depth country overviews, and comprehensive industry profiles to stay current with the ever-evolving business landscape.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Business Source Complete includes full text business journals and magazines, such as the articles of Harvard Business Review, California Management Review, Sloan Management Review, as well as hundreds of other business journals and publications, covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more. This robust business database contains indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new window IBISWorld, the U.S.A.'s most comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research and Industry Risk Ratings provides credible market research on thousands of industries worldwide to help businesses formulate better business proposals and marketing strategies. Each IBISWorld report covers industry performance, key products and markets, the competitive landscape, major companies, operating conditions, key statistics, and five-year forecasts. IBISWorld provides complete coverage of the US economy and also produces industry analysis on the UK, Australia, China, Canada, Ireland, and New Zealand.
- Legal Information Reference Center This link opens in a new window Legal Information Reference Center contains more than 225 full-text publications and thousands of legal forms, with more content being added on a regular basis. This database provides online full text of top consumer legal reference books addressing a wide-range of legal issues including business & corporations, family affairs & divorce, immigration & travel, money & financial planning, patents, copyrights & trademarks, property & real estate, rights & disputes, and wills & estate planning. Many of these titles are published by Nolo, an established provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses.
- NexisUni - Norwalk Campus This link opens in a new window "Designed with input from university students, Nexis Uni™is not just another database; it is academic research evolved."
- SAGE Business Cases This link opens in a new window The SAGE Business Cases is a collection of more than 5,500 cases representing over 120 countries for transformative business research, including research methods for business and management, entrepreneurship, finance, marketing, leadership, business ethics and corporate social responsibility. Instructors, please contact your local campus librarian to receive a Sage Verification Code to access Business Cases: Teaching Notes.
- SAGE Skills Business This link opens in a new window SAGE Skills: Business empowers students to develop and practice real-world skills needed to successfully transition from campus to the modern workplace through interactive self-assessment, virtual scenarios, downloadable data, and expert insights. Over 950 business skills topics are covered and enhanced with a range of engaging multimedia, including original videos, scenarios, data, and expert perspectives.
- Small Business Source This link opens in a new window Small Business Reference Center offers exclusive full text for many top consumer small business reference books, as well as tools to address many small business topics. It includes business videos, a help and advice section and details on how to create business plans. It offers a collection of state-specific resources supported with demographic data and other local information. Business videos include interviews, “lessons learned” features, lectures and how-to videos to help foster success in all aspects of managing a business.
- Wall Street Journal Online Edition This link opens in a new window The Wall Street Journal, a national daily newspaper publishing news, information, commentary, and analysis with an emphasis on business and financial news. This online version includes access to Barron's Magazine, MarketWatch and the WSJ puzzles and games. It includes coverage of U.S. and world news, education, politics, technology, real estate, sports, health, and the arts. Requires creation of free account using campus email address.
- Westlaw Paralegal Premier (Paralegal Student & Faculty Login) This link opens in a new window Westlaw has superior legal material, primary law, analytical materials, practice area insights, litigation resources, public records and has authoritative content for both primary law and exclusive secondary law titles.
Current Issues
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window CQ Researcher offers in-depth, unbiased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on a wide range of topics including: health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, the U.S. economy, crime, and civil liberties. This acclaimed and award-winning weekly publication provides a balanced view of today's most pressing social, political, and economic issues. Each weekly report covers the given topic in a non-sensationalized manner, and many reports feature a pro/con debate, highlighting both sides of the argument. Access over 700 hot topics with pros and cons for your research papers and projects.
- In Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window Designed to support global awareness, In Context: Global Issues ties together a wealth of authoritative content that empowers students to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world. Explore issues within government, law, health, science and technology, society and culture; it contains 250 country pages and more than 400 issue pages along with 6,000 viewpoint commentaries.
- In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window Opposing Viewpoints offers material to support differing views to help develop critical thinking skills on thousands of current social topics in the forms of primary source documents, statistics, websites and multimedia. Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues, including racism, capital punishment, global warming, and voting rights with reference sources, newspaper and magazine articles, scholarly journals, court cases, government documents, viewpoints, maps, images, audio, video and websites.
- Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window Featuring a dynamic design and a wealth of features, Issues & Controversies helps researchers understand today's crucial issues by exploring hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture. Issues and Controversies provides up-to-date, in-depth and objective information on prominent and hotly debated issues. It combines objective analysis with clear explanations of opposing points of view. Chronologies, illustrations, maps, tables, sidebars, bibliographies and contact information augment the balanced, accurate coverage of current and historical events.
eBook
- Axis360-eBook Axis360-eBook (Login with college ID & passwords) - Norwalk Campus This link opens in a new window eBook Collection Selected by NCC library.
- eBook Central College Complete This link opens in a new window College Complete is a comprehensive ebook subscription that helps prepare students for academic and career success. This resource covers all academic subject areas and content for in-demand trade jobs. Gain access to content in traditional disciplines like business, management and nursing; emerging areas like artificial intelligence (AI) and criminal justice; and topics to support specific skills like advanced manufacturing, construction and healthcare.
- Diversity & Ethnic Studies eBook Collection This link opens in a new window This subscription collection includes academic eBooks related to diversity, anti-racism, ethnic studies, disability studies, gerontology & age studies, migration studies, gender and sexuality studies, cultural studies, and religious studies. The collection utilizes outside resources and scholarship to ensure that the collection remains up to date and aligned with current research.
- EBSCO eBooks Academic Subscription Collection This link opens in a new window Access a cross-searchable, multidisciplinary library of over 210,000 high-quality, unlimited-user e-books from leading university presses and academic publishers such as Cambridge University Press, De Gruyter, Elsevier, Harvard University Press, John Wiley & Sons, Oxford University Press, Sage Publications, State University of New York Press, Taylor & Francis, and University of California Press. These ebooks cover a large section of academic subjects and new titles are added the collection continuously.
- MLA Handbook Plus This link opens in a new window Access the new ninth edition of the MLA Handbook online through the library. Browse or search the book online, get citation examples, view sample papers. This resource also includes the MLA Style 101 tutorial, MLA Guide to Digital Literacy and MLA Guide to Undergraduate Research in Literature.
- Overdrive eBooks and AudioBooks This link opens in a new window The Overdrive platform provides access to popular fiction and non-fiction eBook and audiobook titles, as well as selected Public Domain titles from the Duke Classics Collection. If you are looking for an additional free ebook and audiobook platform, please visit eGo using the Palace app.
- SAGE eBooks This link opens in a new window Sage Academic eBooks Explore the ultimate Social Science eBook Collection of over 5,000 titles, including books on nursing and health, media, communication, social studies, politics and leadership.
eJournals
- The American Journal of Nursing This link opens in a new window As nursing’s premier journal, AJN combines trusted, thought-provoking content with heartfelt insight to deliver unique perspective on the art and science of nursing. Advance your career and your practice with AJN’s keen editorial, policy news, and cutting-edge business information relevant to nursing today.
- Cardiopulmonary Physical Therapy Journal This link opens in a new window The Cardiopulmonary Physical Therapy Journal, the official publication of the Academy of Cardiovascular & Pulmonary Physical Therapy - APTA, is a unique journal that highlights research in the areas of cardiovascular and pulmonary disease, health and wellness, and the role that physical therapists play in the management of primary, secondary and tertiary prevention.
- Journal of Chemical Education This link opens in a new window Advances chemistry teaching and learning and chemistry education research via peer-reviewed content addressing laboratory experiments, curricula, and pedagogies.
- Journal of Geriatric Physical Therapy This link opens in a new window Journal of Geriatric Physical Therapy is the leading source of clinically applicable evidence for achieving optimal health, wellness, mobility, and physical function across the continuum of health status for the aging adult.
- Journal of Neurologic Physical Therapy This link opens in a new window The Journal of Neurologic Physical Therapy is a monthly peer-reviewed medical journal covering research on physical therapy.
- NEJM Evidence NEJM Evidence, a monthly, MEDLINE-indexed, peer-reviewed journal from NEJM Group, provides clinical investigators and physicians caring for patients with research and evidence that informs clinical decision-making and spotlights those key areas where more study is critical.
- New England Journal of Medicine The New England Journal of Medicine (NEJM) is recognized as the world’s leading medical journal and website. Published continuously for over 200 years, NEJM delivers high-quality, peer-reviewed research and interactive clinical content to physicians, educators, researchers, and the global medical community.
- Nursing This link opens in a new window This award-winning publication provides evidence-based information for all nurses on a comprehensive range of nursing topics, including clinical and professional information on drugs, diseases, nursing care strategies, and legal/ethical issues.
- Physical Therapy & Rehabilitation Journal This link opens in a new window The official journal of the American Physical Therapy Association. Publishes content for an international readership on topics related to physical therapy.
- Rehabilitation Nursing Journal This link opens in a new window Rehabilitation Nursing journal features in-depth articles on current practice issues, research and its implications, editorial features, and news about products and services for individuals with disabilities or chronic illness.
- Teaching English in the Two Year College This link opens in a new window TETYC publishes theoretical and practical articles across the range of English studies at the two-year college, including composition and rhetoric, developmental education, technical and business communication, reading and literacy, literature, creative writing, language, dual and concurrent enrollment, as well as professional issues.
- Veterinary Clinics of North America: Small Animal Practice This link opens in a new window Veterinary Clinics of North America: Small Animal Practice offers you the most current information on the treatment of small animals such as cats and dogs, updates you on the latest advances, and provides a sound basis for choosing treatment options.
Education
- Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window The Chronicle of Higher Education has the nation’s largest newsroom dedicated to covering colleges and universities. As the unrivaled leader in higher education journalism, they provide indispensable real-time news and deep insights, plus the essential tools, career opportunities, and knowledge to succeed in a rapidly changing world.
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window This is the definitive online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, multilingual education, health education, educational psychology, school nursing, technology, curriculum and instruction, classroom management, supervision and administration and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals, as well as full text for more than 1,200 journals, and includes full text for nearly 500 books and monographs.
- ERIC This link opens in a new window ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and research, and it contains over one million records of journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, and books. Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, and books dating back to 1966. Documents indexed in ERIC are produced by scholarly organizations, professional associations, research centers, policy organizations, university presses, the U.S. Department of Education and other federal agencies, state agencies, and local agencies. Also, individual contributors submit conference papers, research papers, dissertations, and theses.
- Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window Professional Development Collection is a highly specialized full-text database designed for professional educators, librarians and education researchers. It provides full-text access to more than 500 quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to full text, Professional Development Collection also indexes and abstracts more than 900 journals.
- Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window Teacher Reference Center (TRC) provides indexing and abstracts for more than 230 peer-reviewed journals. Full-text articles are also included in this collection, primarily for K-12 educators, teachers and librarians to grow professionally and support classroom success. Topics include, but are not limited to, Curriculum Development, Literacy Standards, Pedagogical Research, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Science & Mathematics, School Administration, and Higher Education.
Psychology
- DSM Library This link opens in a new window The DSM Library is a small collection of e-books featuring the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5-TR), which is used by health professionals, social workers, and forensic and legal specialists to diagnose and classify mental disorders. This collection contains full-text access to the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5) as well as the DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, DSM-5 Clinical Cases, the Spanish Edition of the Desk Reference to the Diagnostic Criteria from DSM-5, and the DSM-5 Handbook on the Cultural Formation Interview.
- PsycArticles This link opens in a new window Delve into the science of psychology and behavior with APA PsycArticles, the database of full-text peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals (Coverage: 1894 - present; updated monthly). Specialty subjects include Psychiatry, Psychology, Psychopharmacology.
- PsycInfo This link opens in a new window APA PsycInfo is a database that provides systematic coverage of the psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. The database also includes records from the 1600s and 1700s. This database is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research.
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.
General Subject
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
- CQ Press Library This link opens in a new window CQ Press provides the reference resources for research in American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs. Includes access to the following collections: Congress Collection, CQ Almanac, CQ Researcher Plus Archive, CQ Magazine, Encyclopedia of American Government, Politics in America, Public Affairs Collection, Supreme Court Collection, Supreme Court Yearbook, Voting and Elections Collection.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window CQ Researcher offers in-depth, unbiased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on a wide range of topics including: health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, the U.S. economy, crime, and civil liberties. This acclaimed and award-winning weekly publication provides a balanced view of today's most pressing social, political, and economic issues. Each weekly report covers the given topic in a non-sensationalized manner, and many reports feature a pro/con debate, highlighting both sides of the argument. Access over 700 hot topics with pros and cons for your research papers and projects.
- In Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window Designed to support global awareness, In Context: Global Issues ties together a wealth of authoritative content that empowers students to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world. Explore issues within government, law, health, science and technology, society and culture; it contains 250 country pages and more than 400 issue pages along with 6,000 viewpoint commentaries.
- JSTOR Archival Journal & Primary Source Collection This link opens in a new window The JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection contains all licensed JSTOR archival journals and primary sources content in a single collection, including Archive Journal Collections and thematic collections; specifically, it includes Arts & Sciences I – XV, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Jewish Studies, Life Sciences, Public Health, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, and Sustainability journal collections. It also contains four primary source collections, 19th Century British Pamphlets, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and Global Plants. This collection contains 2,877 high quality academic journals from across a wide range of disciplines and hundreds of thousands of primary source items.
- MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window MasterFILE Premier provides full text for magazines, reference books, and primary source documents and an Image Collection with photos, maps & flags. MasterFILE Premier provides full text for over 1,800 general interest, business, consumer health, general science, and multicultural periodicals. In addition, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 2,500 periodicals.
- Very Short Introductions Online This link opens in a new window Oxford's Very Short Introductions offers concise and original introductions to a wide range of subjects. Each volume provides provocative, balanced, and complete discussions of the central issues in a given topic, giving a readable evolution of the subject in question. This includes free access to subject related blogs and podcasts.
History
- African-American History This link opens in a new window This resource offers a fresh way to explore the full spectrum of African-American history and culture for the past 500 years. Hundreds of videos, as well as speeches, timelines, biographies, and countless informative articles are contained in this unique database. View the Topic Centers for specific subjects, such as the Underground Railroad, the Harlem Renaissance, the Civil Rights Act of 1964, which include articles, sharable slideshows, videos and primary sources.
- Black Freedom Struggle in the United States This link opens in a new window “Black Freedom Struggle in the United States: Challenges and Triumphs in the Pursuit of Equality”. A free, open resource for students, educators and others who are researching U.S. Black history. The site features over 2,000 curated primary-source documents related to critical people and events in African American history. Featured subjects: Slavery and Abolitionist Movement (1790-1860), Civil War and Reconstruction Era (1861-1877), Jim Crow Era from 1878 to the Great Depression (1878-1932), New Deal and World War II (1933-1945), Civil Rights and Black Power Movements (1946-1975), Contemporary Era (1976-2000s).
- Historical Hartford Courant (1764-1922) This link opens in a new window This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1764 - 1922. This resource includes The Connecticut Courant (1764-1774), Connecticut Courant (1778-1778), Connecticut Courant (1791-1837), The Connecticut Courant and Hartford Weekly Intelligencer (1774-1778), Connecticut Courant and Weekly Intelligencer (1778-1791), Daily Courant (1837-1839), The Hartford Courant (1887-1922), Hartford Daily Courant (1840-1887).
- History Reference Center This link opens in a new window Full text for more than 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers. Covering both U.S. and world history topics, History Reference Center is a full-text database featuring historical reference books, magazines, journals and thousands of primary source documents.
- In Context: Biography This link opens in a new window Built on a foundation of more than 640,000 biographical entries, Gale In Context: Biography covers international figures from all time periods and areas of study. The database also includes full-text articles from nearly 250 periodicals. Search for people based on one or more personal facts such as birth and death years and places, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender, or combine criteria to create highly-targeted custom search results.
- In Context: US History This link opens in a new window Gale in Context: U.S. History is an online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. Topics range from the arrival of Vikings in North America all to the way to the first stirrings of the American Revolution and on through the Civil Rights movement, 9/11, and the War on Terror. Content includes reference works, millions of news and periodical articles, and more than 5,000 rare and vital primary source documents that range from slave journals to presidential papers.
- In Context: World History This link opens in a new window A range of topics such as Aztecs, Industrial Revolution, Silk Road, the Buddha, Space Race, and more provide a wide perspective across the globe. Rare primary sources, reliable reference, and multimedia content are aligned to curriculum and put this vast subject into context for students. World History is cross-searchable with Gale In Context: U.S. History for users with access to both resources.
- JSTOR Archival Journal & Primary Source Collection This link opens in a new window The JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection contains all licensed JSTOR archival journals and primary sources content in a single collection, including Archive Journal Collections and thematic collections; specifically, it includes Arts & Sciences I – XV, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Jewish Studies, Life Sciences, Public Health, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, and Sustainability journal collections. It also contains four primary source collections, 19th Century British Pamphlets, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and Global Plants. This collection contains 2,877 high quality academic journals from across a wide range of disciplines and hundreds of thousands of primary source items.
- Ralph J. Bunche Oral Histories Collection on the Civil Rights Movement This link opens in a new window The Ralph J. Bunche Oral History Collection from the Moorland-Spingarn Research Center is a unique resource for the study of the era of the American civil rights movement. Included here are transcriptions of more than 500 interviews with those who made history in the struggles for voting rights, against discrimination in housing, for the desegregation of the schools, to expose racism in hiring, in defiance of police brutality, and to address poverty in the African American communities.
Literature & Language
- Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window Bloom's Literature contains a wide range of reference essays and scholarly criticism examining great authors and their works throughout history, as well as full-length videos of classic plays and films. Bloom's Literature includes a Literary Classics eBook shelf containing the full contents of more than 1,000 classic works of literature, and also includes a Shakespeare Center which houses in one convenient location a treasure trove of content on all things Shakespeare.
- JSTOR Archival Journal & Primary Source Collection This link opens in a new window The JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection contains all licensed JSTOR archival journals and primary sources content in a single collection, including Archive Journal Collections and thematic collections; specifically, it includes Arts & Sciences I – XV, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Jewish Studies, Life Sciences, Public Health, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, and Sustainability journal collections. It also contains four primary source collections, 19th Century British Pamphlets, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and Global Plants. This collection contains 2,877 high quality academic journals from across a wide range of disciplines and hundreds of thousands of primary source items.
- Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window Explore the most extensive compilation of literary commentary available. Includes analysis from book excerpts, periodicals, and more. Includes Contemporary Literary Criticism, Children's Literature Review, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Drama Criticism, Literature Criticism (1400-1800), 19th Century Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Short Story Criticism, 20th Century Literary Criticism.
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window Find up-to-date biographies, overviews, full-text criticisms, audio interviews, and reviews on writers from all eras. Includes Dictionary of Literary Biography, Something About the Author.
- MagillOnLiterature Plus This link opens in a new window Contains biographical essays that reflect extended coverage of the 2,500 most studied authors and include up-to-date lists of each author’s principal works and current secondary bibliographies. More than 8,500 writers of fiction, poetry, drama, and essays are featured. There are more than 400 comprehensive essays on specific literary genres, themes and settings round out the collection. A cross-referenced glossary of terms is also included to provide definitive explanations of more than 1,800 literary words and phrases.
- Mango Languages - Norwalk Campus This link opens in a new window The Mango learning system focuses on intuitive language construction through a conversation-based methodology that reinforces grammar, vocabulary, culture, and pronunciation, the four key elements of becoming a confident communicator.
- MLA Handbook Plus This link opens in a new window Access the new ninth edition of the MLA Handbook online through the library. Browse or search the book online, get citation examples, view sample papers. This resource also includes the MLA Style 101 tutorial, MLA Guide to Digital Literacy and MLA Guide to Undergraduate Research in Literature.
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window The Oxford English Dictionary is the world's leading authority on the history and development of the English language since 1150. As a historical dictionary, the OED is very different from dictionaries of current English, in which the focus is on present-day meanings. You’ll still find present-day meanings in the OED, but you’ll also find the history of individual words, sometimes from as far back as the 11th century, and of the language—traced through 3.5 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts, song lyrics, and social media posts.
Newspapers
- Chicago Tribune (1985-present) This link opens in a new window The Chicago Tribune is a daily newspaper based in Chicago, Illinois, which keeps readers informed of the latest news from the Chicago area, the nation and the world every day. The Tribune has a reputation for investigative and public service journalism earning 24 Pulitzer Prizes since 1932. Includes complete full-text content of local and regional news, community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community.
- Hartford Courant (1992-current) This link opens in a new window Daily newspaper from Hartford, Connecticut. Coverage: 1992 - current. The Hartford Courant is the largest daily newspaper in Connecticut. Founded in 1764, it also is the oldest continuously published newspaper in the United States.
- Historical Hartford Courant (1764-1922) This link opens in a new window This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1764 - 1922. This resource includes The Connecticut Courant (1764-1774), Connecticut Courant (1778-1778), Connecticut Courant (1791-1837), The Connecticut Courant and Hartford Weekly Intelligencer (1774-1778), Connecticut Courant and Weekly Intelligencer (1778-1791), Daily Courant (1837-1839), The Hartford Courant (1887-1922), Hartford Daily Courant (1840-1887).
- Los Angeles Times (1985-present) This link opens in a new window The Los Angeles Times is a regional American daily newspaper that started publishing in Los Angeles, California in 1881. Based in the Greater Los Angeles area city of El Segundo since 2018, it is the sixth-largest newspaper by circulation in the United States, as well as the largest newspaper in the western United States. The paper has won more than 40 Pulitzer Prizes.
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window Provides cover-to-cover full text for 45 U.S. & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including the New Haven Register and New London Day. It includes newswires, news magazines, television and radio transcripts, news video clips, and more. It is updated daily with the most recent news. Wire sources include the Associated Press (AP), CNN Wire, PR Wire, UPI (United Press International), and Xinhua (China). Television and radio news transcript sources include ABC News (United States), ABC (Australia), CBC (Canada), CBS News, CNBC, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, MSNBC, NPR, and PBS.
- New York Times (1985-present) This link opens in a new window This ProQuest version of full-text articles from The New York Times newspaper (Coverage Dates: 1985 to Present) includes local, regional, national, and international news coverage, including archived articles. Alternately, if you are looking for access to The New York Times Online Edition, please create a free library account at https://library.ctstate.edu/nytimes
- New York Times Online Edition This link opens in a new window Requires creation of free account using campus email address. Use your free account to access popular features, such as Today's Paper, Currently Trending, Wirecutter, The Athletic, Games including The Crossword, Cooking, Recipes, The Learning Network, Opinion, Politics, The Daily (podcast), New York Times Video and TimesMachine, which provides page scans of every issue of The New York Times published between 1851 and 2002 in browsing and searching formats.
- Wall Street Journal (1984-present) This link opens in a new window This ProQuest version of full-text articles from The Wall Street Journal newspaper (Coverage Dates: 1984 to Present) includes local, regional, national, and international news coverage, including archived articles. Alternately, if you are looking for access to The Wall Street Journal Online Edition, please create a free library account at The Wall Street Journal Online Edition. The Wall Street Journal is an American business and economic-focused international daily newspaper based in New York City. The Journal is published six days a week.
- Wall Street Journal Online Edition This link opens in a new window The Wall Street Journal, a national daily newspaper publishing news, information, commentary, and analysis with an emphasis on business and financial news. This online version includes access to Barron's Magazine, MarketWatch and the WSJ puzzles and games. It includes coverage of U.S. and world news, education, politics, technology, real estate, sports, health, and the arts. Requires creation of free account using campus email address.
- Washington Post (1987-present) This link opens in a new window The Washington Post is an American daily newspaper published in Washington, D.C. It is regarded as one of the leading daily American newspapers The Post has distinguished itself through its political reporting on the workings of the White House, Congress, and other aspects of the U.S. government. It is considered a newspaper of record in the U.S. and has won 73 Pulitzer Prizes for journalism.
- U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window U.S. Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal. Search all of these newspaper titles conveniently in one search portal.
Nursing & Allied Health
- atDove.org - Norwalk Campus This link opens in a new window Atdove.org is a website consisting of procedural shorts of real patients, RACE-approved CE and training for everyone in a veterinary practice. Quizzes, training plans, and ability to access an online community of veterinary professionals makes atdove.org the most valued and popular veterinary staff training website. Atdove.org is a product created by the staff of DoveLewis Emergency Animal Hospital located in Portland, Oregon.
- CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window CINAHL is a database of citations and abstracts for journal articles and other materials on nursing, communication sciences and disorders, and allied health sciences. This authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers provides indexing for 2,960 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health with more than 2,000,000 records dating back to 1981.
- Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window This comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices. Full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia; perfect for researchers at all levels with more than 1,000 medical journals, periodicals, and articles from more than 2,200 general-interest publications, medical newspapers, newsletters and news feeds and hundreds of streaming videos.
- Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window Health Source covers a wide variety of subjects, including information on specific diseases as well as overall health topics, including fitness, nutrition, diabetes, aging, women’s health, children’s health and more. Access to Clinical Reference Systems reports, in both English and Spanish, and Merriam-Webster’s Medical Desk Dictionary. This rich collection of consumer health information provides access to full-text consumer health magazines, and includes searchable full text for up-to-date health pamphlets.
- Health Source: Nursing and Academic Edition This link opens in a new window This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. It includes nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, and medical law. It also features the AHFS (American Hospital Formulary Service® Drug Information) Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
- ICE Video Library (with Stroke Help Collection) This link opens in a new window ICE (International Clinical Educators) has been a leader in healthcare education since its founding in 1983. ICE Learning Center Videos are professionally filmed and feature actual patients and clinicians demonstrating practical and effective treatment ideas, including including acute care, skilled nursing, outpatient, home health and ICU. This video collection includes StrokeHelp: Functional Treatment Ideas & Strategies and StrokeHelp: Treatment Strategies in Acute Care.
- Interactive Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window This database allows you to examine virtual 3D dissections and immerse yourself in interactive research. You can separate over 4,300 anatomical structures from the body to reveal layers and anatomical relationships, and visualize more than 13,500 landmarks. You can also isolate different regions and systems, zoom in, zoom out, and rotate areas as often as necessary to fully comprehend critical information. Artistic renderings provide detailed visual clarity. The database can be used for in-classroom demonstrations and help with homework or research assignments.
- MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window MEDLINE with Full Text provides the authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences found on MEDLINE. The database includes full text for over 1,470 journals and citations for over 4,800 biomedical journals with subjects like Biomedicine, Pre-Clinical Sciences, Behavioral Sciences, Bioengineering, Health Policy Development, Life Sciences, Communication Disorders, Population Biology, and Reproductive Biology.
- VetBloom - Norwalk Campus This link opens in a new window VetBloom offers online continuing education courses for veterinary professionals. It provides courses on anesthesiology, dentistry, diagnostic imaging, emergency/critical care, Internal medicine, neurology, oncology, ophthalmology, pain management, pharmacology, toxicology, and surgery.
Reference
- Encyclopedia Britannica Academic - Norwalk Campus This link opens in a new window Britannica is a well-respected brand and has a long tradition of providing accurate and educational information on just about any subject you can think of. We pride ourselves in encouraging all our customers, young and old, to discover more about the world we live in.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Credo Reference is a general knowledge database providing articles, images, charts, maps and other materials on thousands of topics. With 750+ searchable, full-text titles, Credo Reference places particular emphasis on subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also included are more than 1,100 short reference videos, more than 475,000 high-resolution art images, photographs, and maps across all subject areas.
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window The Oxford English Dictionary is the world's leading authority on the history and development of the English language since 1150. As a historical dictionary, the OED is very different from dictionaries of current English, in which the focus is on present-day meanings. You’ll still find present-day meanings in the OED, but you’ll also find the history of individual words, sometimes from as far back as the 11th century, and of the language—traced through 3.5 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts, song lyrics, and social media posts.
- Peterson's Test and Career Prep This link opens in a new window Gale Presents Petersons Test and Career Prep provides you with standardized exam preparation, including practice tests, eBooks and online courses. Exams types include professional, civil service and military exams. Career prep includes professional career videos, an occupational database and career library, military crosswalks, citizenship, math, science, reading, writing skills and job search powered by Indeed.com. Access to Visual CV Resume Creator is also included.Please Note: an account is required to access this resource and save your progress in the prep material. An email address is not required, but highly recommended, to create an account.
- Referencia Latina This link opens in a new window A comprehensive Spanish-language database with 49,000 encyclopedia entries; 50,000 images; 2,500 health reports; a Spanish-English dictionary and full text for over 100 reference books and dozens of general interest magazines in a broad array of subject areas. Its intuitive, theme-based Spanish-language interface is designed to make content readily accessible to non-English users with limited online research experience.Una base de datos completa en español con 49.000 entradas de enciclopedia; 50.000 imágenes; 2.500 informes de salud; un diccionario español-inglés y el texto completo de más de 100 libros de referencia y docenas de revistas de interés general en una amplia gama de áreas temáticas. Su intuitiva interfaz en español basada en temas está diseñada para hacer que el contenido sea fácilmente accesible para usuarios que no hablan inglés y tienen experiencia limitada en investigación en línea.
- SAGE Campus This link opens in a new window Online Learning for skills and research methods. 37 courses on topics, science, research, critical thinking. Sage Campus supports the teaching and learning of skills and research methods through 280+ hours of structured online learning. The online courses are self-paced and instructor-led, comprising an engaging mix of Sage-quality content, video, interactives, and formative assessments. The topics cover critical skills and research methods for across all stages of academic study; navigating information, data literacy, research skills, data science skills, and getting published. You must create an account to log into this resource.
- SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window Authoritative eReference Titles in the Social Sciences. SAGE Knowledge includes an expansive range of SAGE eBook and eReference content, including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, as well as business case studies, and streaming video.
- Sage Reference This link opens in a new window Start your research with authoritative encyclopedias and handbooks in the social and behavioral sciences. Provides access to hundreds of carefully selected reference titles on topics across the social sciences. Content includes handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and debates.
Science & Mathematics
- DSM Library This link opens in a new window The DSM Library is a small collection of e-books featuring the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5-TR), which is used by health professionals, social workers, and forensic and legal specialists to diagnose and classify mental disorders. This collection contains full-text access to the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5) as well as the DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, DSM-5 Clinical Cases, the Spanish Edition of the Desk Reference to the Diagnostic Criteria from DSM-5, and the DSM-5 Handbook on the Cultural Formation Interview.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new window GreenFile offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
- In Context: Science This link opens in a new window From climate change to genetically modified organisms to fracking, the wealth of content in Gale In Context: Science spans the fields of biology, chemistry, physics, earth and environmental science, health and medicine, and math and technology. Go beyond research projects and choose from over 350 experiments in 200 entries to assign during everyday instruction, enabling hands-on learning anywhere students have online access.
- Interactive Chemistry This link opens in a new window Gale Interactive Chemistry engages students and aids comprehension by pairing reference material with manipulable 3D models. This database follows 1st and 2nd-year college syllabus topics like the periodic table, molecules and compounds, reactions, and chemical processes. Dive deeply into concepts with tools to zoom, rotate, and explore interactive models. Clicking through each session displays relevant reference content related to the image, complete with cross-search capabilities to locate the right information. These powerful visual tools can be used for in-class demonstrations or to help with homework and research assignments.
- Interactive Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window This database allows you to examine virtual 3D dissections and immerse yourself in interactive research. You can separate over 4,300 anatomical structures from the body to reveal layers and anatomical relationships, and visualize more than 13,500 landmarks. You can also isolate different regions and systems, zoom in, zoom out, and rotate areas as often as necessary to fully comprehend critical information. Artistic renderings provide detailed visual clarity. The database can be used for in-classroom demonstrations and help with homework or research assignments.
- Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Science Reference Center provides full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, reference books and high-quality videos. The database also contains science experiments, curriculum-aligned lesson plans, and a vast image collection.
Social Sciences
- African-American History This link opens in a new window This resource offers a fresh way to explore the full spectrum of African-American history and culture for the past 500 years. Hundreds of videos, as well as speeches, timelines, biographies, and countless informative articles are contained in this unique database. View the Topic Centers for specific subjects, such as the Underground Railroad, the Harlem Renaissance, the Civil Rights Act of 1964, which include articles, sharable slideshows, videos and primary sources.
- Black Freedom Struggle in the United States This link opens in a new window “Black Freedom Struggle in the United States: Challenges and Triumphs in the Pursuit of Equality”. A free, open resource for students, educators and others who are researching U.S. Black history. The site features over 2,000 curated primary-source documents related to critical people and events in African American history. Featured subjects: Slavery and Abolitionist Movement (1790-1860), Civil War and Reconstruction Era (1861-1877), Jim Crow Era from 1878 to the Great Depression (1878-1932), New Deal and World War II (1933-1945), Civil Rights and Black Power Movements (1946-1975), Contemporary Era (1976-2000s).
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window Communication & Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline.
- CQ Press Library This link opens in a new window CQ Press provides the reference resources for research in American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs. Includes access to the following collections: Congress Collection, CQ Almanac, CQ Researcher Plus Archive, CQ Magazine, Encyclopedia of American Government, Politics in America, Public Affairs Collection, Supreme Court Collection, Supreme Court Yearbook, Voting and Elections Collection.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new window Criminal Justice Abstracts contains more than 400,000 records selected from the most important sources within the discipline. Subject areas covered include: criminology; criminal justice; criminal law and procedure; corrections and prisons; police and policing; criminal investigation; forensic sciences and investigation; history of crime; substance abuse and addiction; probation and parole.
- Diversity & Ethnic Studies eBook Collection This link opens in a new window This subscription collection includes academic eBooks related to diversity, anti-racism, ethnic studies, disability studies, gerontology & age studies, migration studies, gender and sexuality studies, cultural studies, and religious studies. The collection utilizes outside resources and scholarship to ensure that the collection remains up to date and aligned with current research.
- eHRAF World Cultures - Norwalk Campus This link opens in a new window eHraf World Cultures is a cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.
- Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new window With its curated full-text materials, Ethnic Diversity Source is essential to support the study of African Americans, Arab Americans, Asian Americans, European Americans, Jewish Americans, Latino/Latina/Latine Americans, Multiracial Americans, and Native Americans, among others, with respect to their cultures, traditions, social treatment, and lived experiences. Scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, historical documents, and biographies are complemented by primary sources, such as speeches and interviews. Complete with robust collections of videos and e-books, Ethnic Diversity Source creates a dynamic research experience for students and researchers.
- In Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window Designed to support global awareness, In Context: Global Issues ties together a wealth of authoritative content that empowers students to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world. Explore issues within government, law, health, science and technology, society and culture; it contains 250 country pages and more than 400 issue pages along with 6,000 viewpoint commentaries.
- JSTOR Archival Journal & Primary Source Collection This link opens in a new window The JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection contains all licensed JSTOR archival journals and primary sources content in a single collection, including Archive Journal Collections and thematic collections; specifically, it includes Arts & Sciences I – XV, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Jewish Studies, Life Sciences, Public Health, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, and Sustainability journal collections. It also contains four primary source collections, 19th Century British Pamphlets, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and Global Plants. This collection contains 2,877 high quality academic journals from across a wide range of disciplines and hundreds of thousands of primary source items.
- LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window LGBTQ+ Source contains all of the content available in LGBT Life as well as full text for more than 140 of the most important and historically significant LGBTQ+ journals, magazines and regional newspapers, plus full text for 150 monographs/books. It includes both scholarly and popular publications covering lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer issues, with comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBTQ+ Thesaurus containing over 10,000 terms.
- Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window Professional Development Collection is a highly specialized full-text database designed for professional educators, librarians and education researchers. It provides full-text access to more than 500 quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to full text, Professional Development Collection also indexes and abstracts more than 900 journals.
- Ralph J. Bunche Oral Histories Collection on the Civil Rights Movement This link opens in a new window The Ralph J. Bunche Oral History Collection from the Moorland-Spingarn Research Center is a unique resource for the study of the era of the American civil rights movement. Included here are transcriptions of more than 500 interviews with those who made history in the struggles for voting rights, against discrimination in housing, for the desegregation of the schools, to expose racism in hiring, in defiance of police brutality, and to address poverty in the African American communities.
- SAGE eBooks This link opens in a new window Sage Academic eBooks Explore the ultimate Social Science eBook Collection of over 5,000 titles, including books on nursing and health, media, communication, social studies, politics and leadership.
- SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window Authoritative eReference Titles in the Social Sciences. SAGE Knowledge includes an expansive range of SAGE eBook and eReference content, including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, as well as business case studies, and streaming video.
Statistical & Data
- SAGE Data This link opens in a new window A universe of data at your fingertips. Sage Data provides access to billions of statistical datasets across 16 topical areas, including Business, Education, Health, Criminal Justice and Law Enforcement, Government and Politics, and more. Results can be compared and viewed in customizable tables, maps, rankings, and charts. Views also include descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources. Sources include public, private/commercial, and nongovernmental organizations, as well as Woods & Poole Economics, Inc.
- SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window What every researcher needs. Learn to conduct research from start to finish. SAGE Research Methods supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process, from a quick dictionary definition, a case study example from a researcher in the field, a downloadable teaching dataset, a full-text title from the Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences series, or a video tutorial showing research in action.
- SAGE Skills Business This link opens in a new window SAGE Skills: Business empowers students to develop and practice real-world skills needed to successfully transition from campus to the modern workplace through interactive self-assessment, virtual scenarios, downloadable data, and expert insights. Over 950 business skills topics are covered and enhanced with a range of engaging multimedia, including original videos, scenarios, data, and expert perspectives.
- Statista This link opens in a new window Use Statista for immediate access to over one million statistics and facts. Statista is an online platform specialized in market and consumer data, which offers statistics and reports, market insights, consumer insights and company insights in German, English, Spanish and French. Additional modules include Company Insights, Ecommerce Insights, Consumer Insights. The reports, charts, infographics, and statistics found in the database can be viewed online or downloaded.
Streaming Films
- Films On Demand This link opens in a new window A streaming video service that provides access to over 38,000 instructional and documentary videos from producers such as Films for the Humanities & Sciences, HBO, CNBC News, ABC News, PBS, BBC, Cengage Learning, Meridian, and others.
- ICE Video Library (with Stroke Help Collection) This link opens in a new window ICE (International Clinical Educators) has been a leader in healthcare education since its founding in 1983. ICE Learning Center Videos are professionally filmed and feature actual patients and clinicians demonstrating practical and effective treatment ideas, including including acute care, skilled nursing, outpatient, home health and ICU. This video collection includes StrokeHelp: Functional Treatment Ideas & Strategies and StrokeHelp: Treatment Strategies in Acute Care.
- Kanopy BASE Collection This link opens in a new window A collection of over 10,000 educational and feature films and documentaries in the Kanopy BASE collection range from core curricular subjects like Race and Class Studies, Sociology and Education, to subjects that cater to the whole student like Mental Health, Psychology and Health and Fitness. Many films on Kanopy—including from iconic suppliers like the BBC, NEON, Samuel Goldwyn Films, HISTORY, A&E, First Run Features Kino Lorber and IFC Films—are unavailable elsewhere.
- SAGE Skills Student Success This link opens in a new window SAGE Skills: Student Success empowers students to learn the practical academic and personal skills needed to thrive during their time in higher education and beyond. Dynamic multimedia modules focus on foundational skills across academic writing, critical thinking, information literacy, intercultural awareness, study strategies, and more.
- SAGE Video This link opens in a new window SAGE Video collections are created for use across higher education, to support pedagogical needs for undergraduate teaching and learning, through to higher level academic research. It provides access to a breadth of streaming video types and lengths, including real-world scenarios with top experts, easy to understand tutorials, and documentary-style video content designed to focus on building the knowledge necessary for success. Through this collection, you have access to unparalleled publishing expertise, disciplinary knowledge, and exposure to leading experts in disciplines across Business, Education, Leadership, Nursing, Psychology, Social Work, and more.Instructors, please contact your local campus librarian to receive a Sage Verification Code to access Sage Video: Assessment Questions.
- SWANK Digital Campus This link opens in a new window Movie and TV Show Streaming Service which grants free access to Swank's Top 500 Films Collection. These films may be shown in class or linked in Blackboard, but Public Performance Rights are not included with the Library license purchased. CT State faculty who wish to request films for their courses may do so by completing the Request Form.
