Evidence based practice (EBP) is the conscientious use of current best evidence in making decisions about patient care (Sackett, Straus, Richardson, Rosenberg, & Haynes, 2000). The EBP process is a method that allows the practitioner to assess research, clinical guidelines, and other information resources based on high quality findings and apply the results to practice. It is a problem solving approach to clinical practice and administrative issues that integrates:

• A systematic search for and critical appraisal of the most relevant evidence to answer a burning clinical question
• One's own clinical expertise
• Patient preferences and values (Melnyk & Fineout-Overholt, 2014)

• Using Evidence Based Nursing in Practice - University of North Carolina Health Science Library - a good website from a reputable source that breaks down each aspect and provides a clear explanation
• US Department of Health & Human Services Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
• US Department of Health & Human Services National Quality Measures Clearinghouse

Academy of Medical-Surgical Nursing (AMSN) recommends the following websites to learn more about evidence based practice:

• Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality - from clinical practice guidelines to continuing education, research tools and applications for funding and grants, AHRQ will engage the novice to expert nurse. 
• AGREE II Instrument Website (Appraisal of Guidelines for Research and Evaluation) - this website allows for members to evaluate the process and quality of practice guideline development and gives guidance on how to properly evaluate to facilitate the providers in making their own assessment prior to adopting recommendations into their own practice.
• Institute for Healthcare Improvement - IHI is a primary resource for tools and methods to identify design and implement best practices. As the leading innovator in health care improvement, IHI is an invaluable resource for health and health care practices.
• National Guideline Clearinghouse - Coordinated by the AHRQ, this website provides structured, standardized summaries of clinical practice guidelines. The searchable database includes practice guidelines related to a wide range of clinical issues from regional, national, and international organizations. In many cases, links to the full documents are provided.
• Oncology Nursing Society Evidence Based Resource Area - this website contains a wealth of resources related to evidence based nursing practice, including an overview, tutorials, and a toolkit. While clinical resources are related to oncology nursing practice, many resources are applicable in a wide range of settings.
• Oxford Centre for Evidence-based Medicine  - this website provides in-depth strategies, resources, and references about appraising and using evidence in health care. Although intended primarily for physicians, the information is applicable to all health care providers with an interest in evidence based practice.
• PubMed - This article database includes over 22 million citations from journal articles and online books related to biomedicine and health. A detailed tutorial about use of the database for conducting searches is provided. When available, links to full text articles are provided.
• Registered Nurses Association of Ontario – Nursing Best Practice Guidelines - this website provides information and resources on development and utilization of nursing best practice guidelines. Although intended for members, the information is accessible to health care providers with an interest in best practices literature.
• Trip Database - this search engine serves to help the user “find evidence fast” by entering keywords to search journal and database articles.
• VA/DoD Clinical Practice Guidelines - This website provides access to clinical practice guidelines developed or published by the Veteran’s Administration/Department of Defense. These guidelines were developed to improve the health and outcomes of our veterans. The information is accessible to health care providers and applicable across adult populations.