Spotlight
Mantel from Drawing Room of the Craig House, Baltimore, Maryland
Date:ca. 1810
Geography:Made in Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Culture:American
Metropolitan Museum of Art
What are Reference Works?
Reference works are authoritative resources that provide facts and/or summaries of information. They should be used in your research process to gain a quick overview or summary of your topic (encyclopedias); define unfamiliar terms (dictionaries); and find geographic information (atlases and maps). Many U.S. government websites provide reference resources with statistics for quantitative support of your research topic arguments. Reference works are usually considered Tertiary Resources. They are used as a jumping off point for further research.
Search Norwalk Library Catalog
Search for books, ebooks, articles, Journals, and media.
More Search Options
Online Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Credo Reference is a general knowledge database providing articles, images, charts, maps and other materials on thousands of topics. With 750+ searchable, full-text titles, Credo Reference places particular emphasis on subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also included are more than 1,100 short reference videos, more than 475,000 high-resolution art images, photographs, and maps across all subject areas.
- Encyclopedia Britannica Academic - Norwalk Campus This link opens in a new window Britannica is a well-respected brand and has a long tradition of providing accurate and educational information on just about any subject you can think of. We pride ourselves in encouraging all our customers, young and old, to discover more about the world we live in.
Selected Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Mary Gilliatt's Dictionary of Architecture and Interior Design by
In this latest of Mary Gilliatt's must-have home decor and interior design books, readers are given an essential, one-stop shopping and reference book defining and explaining all terms necessary to work-either as a professional or a home owner-in the world of residential design and decorating. All of the terms are grouped into one of 12 subject areas, making the guide easy to use for the average reader. Every relevant subject is covered, including architects and interior designers; architectural and building terms; color, paint, and paint effects; fabric and wallpaper; floors; furniture and upholstery; glass and ceramics; lighting; Oriental and other rugs and carpets; styles and movements; window treatments; and wood. Whether working with a professional architect or designer on a major renovation, buying a house or other property, or simply decorating a corner of a room or purchasing furniture, readers will gain a wealth of knowledge and an understanding of the language necessary to navigate in the world of home decor and design.
Call Number: NK1704 .G54 2004ISBN: 0823013391Publication Date: 2004-09-01
