Whether it’s for a professional presentation, a school paper, an Internet blog or video, or something more personal, this text explains the concepts, provides insights, shares advice, and examines the skills needed to master effective and efficient communication for every setting and occasion.

The volume is aimed at readers who have an interest in some aspect of language science but wish to learn more about the broad range of ideas, findings, practices, and prospects that constitute this rapidly expanding field, a field arguably at the center of current research on the human mind and human society.

Authoritative survey of second language acquisition (SLA). Its multi-perspective synopsis on recent developments in SLA research provides significant contributions by established experts and widely recognized younger talent.

Definitions of terms in the field of linguistics and phonetics.

The first comprehensive dictionary of the field of sociolinguistics, this is a valuable reference book for students and teachers of sociolinguistics, others concerned with the socially-oriented study of language and those with a professional interest in language.

An invaluable reference work featuring contributions from leading global scholars that successfully brings into a single source, explication of Language and Social Interaction work developing globally and across subjects.

Offers introductory entries on ideas that have shaped the study of language up to the present day.

A unique and accessible reference guide to the work of figures who have played an important role in the development of ideas about language.

Explores the meanings of idioms, including phrasal verbs such as "kick back", proverbs such as "too many cooks spoil the broth", interjections such as "tough beans", and figures of speech such as "elephant in the room".

This 6th edition offers newly updated terms, and provides the latest research on word origins and meanings, with guidelines on accurate usage.

This authoritative survey of English usage, grammar, and style offers guidance on almost any writing problem imaginable. Arranged in a single, easy-to-use A-Z list, the guide's entries include examples and quotations that show not only correct and incorrect usage but also the relative effectiveness of different expressions in context.

Provides a wide range of synonyms organized in alphabetical order. Clear definitions that orient the user to the relevant meaning of related words set this thesaurus apart from the competition.

With more than 7,000 definitions, this book provides a definitive guide to the use of slang today. It deals with drugs, sport and contemporary society, as well as favourite slang topics such as sex and bodily functions.

Explains and illustrates the literary symbols that we all frequently encounter (such as swan, rose, moon, gold), and gives hundreds of cross-references and quotations.

7th edition, updates the bestselling guide and offers information and advice on spelling, grammar, punctuation, pronunciation, confusables and the latest buzzwords, and provides clear, straightforward answers to everyday language problems.

Defining more than 10,000 words and phrases from everyday slang to technical terms and concepts, this dictionary of the audiovisual language embraces more than 50 subject areas within film, television, and home entertainment.

Chronicles the most influential ideas that have shaped film since its inception. The ideas include innovative concepts, technologies, techniques and movements, from the silent era's masterpieces to today's blockbusters and art house movies, these highly illustrated pages are a chance to rediscover films from five continents.

Provides students and the general public alike with a gateway into the study of intercultural communication, public relations and marketing communications. In this 9th edition, James Watson and Anne Hill provide a detailed compendium of the different facets of personal, group, mass-media and internet communication that continues to be a vital source of information for all those interested in how communication affects our lives.

Explores the ways that editorial content--from journalism and scholarship to films and infomercials--is developed, presented, stored, analyzed, and regulated around the world. For readers and researchers of all levels, the Encyclopedia provides perspective and context about content, delivery systems, and their myriad relationships, as well as clearly drawn avenues for further research.

From the classics to the B slasher movies, over 11,000 quotes are arranged in this unique reference.

Covers the key concepts central to understanding recent developments in media and communications studies. Wide-ranging in scope and accessible in style it sets out a useful, clear map of the important theories, methods, and debates.

Includes over tens of thousands of quotations for all occasions, from Ancient Egypt to the 21st century.