Find Articles
- Gale eBooks: History - Naugatuck Valley Campus This link opens in a new window A wide-ranging collection of historical documents, including primary source materials, covering topics including civil rights, the environment and conservation, immigration and immigrant communities, LGBTQ+ history, the Middle Ages, the Middle East, women's rights, Native Americans, and issues of nationalism and populism.
- History Reference Source This link opens in a new window Full text for more than 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers. Covering both U.S. and world history topics, History Reference Source is a full-text database featuring historical reference books, magazines, journals and thousands of primary source documents. View the EBSCO Search Tutorial Video
- In Context: World History This link opens in a new window A range of topics such as Aztecs, Industrial Revolution, Silk Road, the Buddha, Space Race, and more provide a wide perspective across the globe. Rare primary sources, reliable reference, and multimedia content are aligned to curriculum and put this vast subject into context for students. World History is cross-searchable with Gale In Context: U.S. History for users with access to both resources.
Napoleon Bonaparte
Napoleon Bonaparte was born on an island called Corsica near Italy in the mid 18th century. His parents sent him to a military school. He came from the Nobility Class. Napoleon started school when he was 7 years old. At 23 he became a general. During the radical stage of the French Revolution he stayed in France. He instituted many reforms. In the spring of 1812 he invaded Russia with some 700,000 troops, 1/3 of which were conquered peoples. He was eventually defeated by the Russians and then exiled at Elba. After escaping to southern France he formed another army and marched towards Russia. He was defeated and captured in the Battle of Waterloo in 1815 in present day Beligum. He was sent to St Helena where he died in 1821.
Rule of law
After crowing himself Emperor in 1804, Napoleon entered into an agreement with the Roman Catholic Church.
He centralized the government and improved tax laws. However, over time he became extremely despotic and
demanded total allegiance.
|
Read the full text of the Code of Napoleon.
It is also known Code Civll. Picture courtesy
of Princeton College.
Battle of Waterloo
Books on Napoleon
Napoleon
Born in Corsica Napoleon was the son of an Italian. His birth name was Napoleone Buonaparte.
He learned French and ending up attending a military college via a scholarship. He moved up through
the military ranks and led a successful campaign in Italy. A coup in 1789 helped pave the way for the monaarch
to return to France. In 1804 he crowned himself emperor.
Picture of Napoleon in his study 1812, by Jacques-Louis David courtesy of Post Gazette.
After getting defeated at Waterloo he was exiled to the island of Elba in 1821.
- The Napoleonic GuideThis website provides a wealth of information on Napoleon, his battles, maps etc.