Why is scientific literature important?
- Research and discovery in the laboratory or field is dependent on existing knowledge and literature.
- New research may add to, substantiate, modify, refine or refute existing knowledge.
- Discovery is only valuable when it becomes part of the literature and the body of scientific knowledge.
Search for Articles:
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
- ScienceDirect - Middlesex Campus This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect Health and Life Sciences Collection is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters. ScienceDirect articles are peer-reviewed and include primary research articles. It features access to over 1,200 current Elsevier journals and over 3,800 books in the health and life sciences, covering 1995-present.
- Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Science Reference Center provides full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, reference books and high-quality videos. The database also contains science experiments, curriculum-aligned lesson plans, and a vast image collection.
- In Context: Science This link opens in a new window From climate change to genetically modified organisms to fracking, the wealth of content in Gale In Context: Science spans the fields of biology, chemistry, physics, earth and environmental science, health and medicine, and math and technology. Go beyond research projects and choose from over 350 experiments in 200 entries to assign during everyday instruction, enabling hands-on learning anywhere students have online access.
Primary Sources and Secondary Sources
