FINDING EBOOKS
Your can locate e-books with the Housatonic Catalog. On the left colum under Tweak My Results select:
Delivery Format: Online Resource Type: Books. See also sample books - point and click!
EBOOKS (Link to Full Text)
Handbook of Genetics and Biotechnology by
This book consists of 27 s, more than 5000 questions with answers and a glossary covering most of the related technical terms. Each start with point wise brief of the text followed by MCQs, fill in the blanks and T/F questions useful and beneficial in JRF, SRF, NET, SET, UG and PG examinations.
ISBN: 9389992672Publication Date: 2021
Blood Relations by
Blood is messy, dangerous, and charged with meaning. By following it as it circulates through people and institutions, Jenny Bangham explores the intimate connections between the early infrastructures of blood transfusion and the development of human genetics. Focusing on mid-twentieth-century Britain, Blood Relations connects histories of eugenics to the local politics of giving blood, showing how the exchange of blood carved out networks that made human populations into objects of medical surveillance and scientific research. Bangham reveals how biology was transformed by two world wars, how scientists have worked to define racial categories, and how the practices and rhetoric of public health made genetics into a human science. Today, genetics is a powerful authority on human health and identity, and Blood Relations helps us understand how this authority was achieved.
ISBN: 9780226740171Publication Date: 2020-12-07
RNA, the Epicenter of Genetic Information by
The origin story and emergence of molecular biology is muddled. The early triumphs in bacterial genetics and the complexity of animal and plant genomes complicate an intricate history. This book documents the many advances, as well as the prejudices and founder fallacies. It highlights the premature relegation of RNA to simply an intermediate between gene and protein, the underestimation of the amount of information required to program the development of multicellular organisms, and the dawning realization that RNA is the cornerstone of cell biology, development, brain function and probably evolution itself. Key personalities, their hubris as well as prescient predictions are richly illustrated with quotes, archival material, photographs, diagrams and references to bring the people, ideas and discoveries to life, from the conceptual cradles of molecular biology to the current revolution in the understanding of genetic information. Key Features Documents the confused early history of DNA, RNA and proteins - a transformative history of molecular biology like no other. Integrates the influences of biochemistry and genetics on the landscape of molecular biology. Chronicles the important discoveries, preconceptions and misconceptions that retarded or misdirected progress. Highlights major pioneers and contributors to molecular biology, with a focus on RNA and noncoding DNA. Summarizes the mounting evidence for the central roles of non-protein-coding RNA in cell and developmental biology. Provides a thought-provoking retrospective and forward-looking perspective for advanced students and professional researchers. The Open Access version of this book, available at www.taylorfrancis.com, has been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives 4.0 license.
Publication Date: 2022-09-20
Human Genetics and the Immune System by
Illness is a part of life. For many years we have known about disease. But we were not always so smart. The Black Plague ravaged Europe between 1347-1352 and killed 30-80 MILLION people. No one knew how people caught the condition and lots of ideas failed-people just died. But not everyone died; possibly their immune systems help them fight off these "invaders". Today we know about bacteria, viruses, cancers and other invaders and we usually let them run their course. That is because our bodies detect and fight them. That is immunity.
ISBN: 9781946646576Publication Date: 2017-11-01
Epigenetics: Beyond the Genetics and Medicine by
Epigenetics refers to the study of changes in organisms that are caused by modifications of gene expression instead of alteration of the genetic code itself. This volume includes 30 chapters that explore epigenetics from a variety of perspectives, including the role of epigenetics in aging, cancers, fetal brain development, epilepsy, and more.
ISBN: 9798886973495Publication Date: 2022-10-19
MORE EBOOKS
The End of Genetics by
An urgent plea for a broader understanding and awareness of the unconsidered dangers of new genetic technologies Since 2010 it has been possible to determine a person's genetic makeup in a matter of days at an accessible cost for many millions of people. Along with this technological breakthrough there has emerged a movement to use this information to help prospective parents "eliminate preventable genetic disease." As the prospect of systematically excluding the appearance of unwanted mutations in our children comes within reach, David B. Goldstein examines the possible consequences from these types of choices. Engaging and accessible, this clarion call for responsible and informed stewardship of the human genome provides an overview of what we do and do not know about human genetics and looks at some of the complex, yet largely unexplored, issues we must be most careful about as we move into an era of increasing numbers of parents exercising direct control over the genomes of their children.
ISBN: 9780300219395Publication Date: 2022-01-04
Handbook of Epigenetics by
Handbook of Epigenetics: The New Molecular and Medical Genetics, Second Edition, provides a comprehensive analysis of epigenetics, from basic biology, to clinical application. Epigenetics is considered by many to be the new genetics in that many biological phenomena are controlled, not through gene mutations, but rather through reversible and heritable epigenetic processes. These epigenetic processes range from DNA methylation to prions. The biological processes impacted by epigenetics are vast and encompass effects in lower organisms and humans that include tissue and organ regeneration, X-chromosome inactivation, stem cell differentiation, genomic imprinting, and aging. The first edition of this important work received excellent reviews; the second edition continues its comprehensive coverage adding more current research and new topics based on customer and reader reviews, including new discoveries, approved therapeutics, and clinical trials. From molecular mechanisms and epigenetic technology, to discoveries in human disease and clinical epigenetics, the nature and applications of the science is presented for those with interests ranging from the fundamental basis of epigenetics, to therapeutic interventions for epigenetic-based disorders. Timely and comprehensive collection of fully up-to-date reviews on epigenetics that are organized into one volume and written by leading figures in the field Covers the latest advances in many different areas of epigenetics, ranging from basic aspects, to technologies, to clinical medicine Written at a verbal and technical level that can be understood by scientists and college students Updated to include new epigenetic discoveries, newly approved therapeutics, and clinical trials
ISBN: 0128054778Publication Date: 2017-07-10
The Basic and Clinical Consequences of Genetic Disorders in Humans by
This book explores the basic concepts of genetics and heredity in human diseases. It discusses techniques like RT-PCR, karyotyping, DNA/RNA extraction, RFLP, DNA sequencing and electrophoresis, which will be helpful in clinical diagnostics for patients. The book also considers developmental anomalies and birth defects, as well as the potential for folate metabolism to act as a “risk factor” in genetic disorders.
Publication Date: 2022
Mobilizing Mutations by
With every passing year, more and more people learn that they or their young or unborn child carries a genetic mutation. But what does this mean for the way we understand a person? Today, genetic mutations are being used to diagnose novel conditions like the XYY, Fragile X, NGLY1 mutation, and 22q11.2 Deletion syndromes, carving out rich new categories of human disease and difference. Daniel Navon calls this form of categorization “genomic designation,” and in Mobilizing Mutations he shows how mutations, and the social factors that surround them, are reshaping human classification.
ISBN: 9780226638126Publication Date: 2019
Creating Future People by
Creating Future People offers readers a fast-paced primer on how new genetic technologies will enable parents to influence the traits of their children, including their intelligence, moral capacities, physical appearance, and immune system. It deftly explains the science of gene editing and embryo selection, and raises the central moral questions with colorful language and a brisk style. Jonathan Anomaly takes seriously the diversity of preferences parents have, and the limits of public policy in regulating what could soon be a global market for reproductive technology. He argues that once embryo selection for complex traits happens it will change the moral landscape by altering the incentives parents face. All of us will take an interest in the traits everyone else selects, and this will present coordination problems that previous writers on genetic enhancement have failed to consider. Anomaly navigates difficult ethical issues with vivid language and scientifically informed speculation about how genetic engineering will transform humanity. Key features: Offers clear explanations of scientific concepts; Explores important moral questions without academic jargon; Brings discoveries from different fields together to give us a sense of where humanity is headed.
ISBN: 9780367203108Publication Date: 2020-02-10
