Skip to Main Content

Citing Sources - MLA Style

MLA Reference Citations Examples

Encyclopedia or Dictionary Articles or Entries

(1) "Title of Entry." (2) Title of Encyclopedia or Dictionary, (3) contributed by Contributor's First Name Last Name, (4) Edition, (5) vol. Number, (6) Publisher Name, (7) Publication Date, (8) Pages.

"Phone." The Oxford English Dictionary, prepared by J. A. Simpson and E. S. C. Weiner, Second ed., vol. XI, Claredon Press, - Oxford, 1989, p. 697.

Essay or Chapter in an Anthology

(1) Author. (2) "Title of Essay or Chapter." (3) Title of Anthology, (4) edited by Editor's First Name Last Name, (5) Publisher Name, (6) Publication Date, (7) Pages.

Tuqan, Ibrahim. "Perplexity." Modern Arabic Poetry, edited by Salma Khadra Jayyusi, Columbia University Press, 1987, pp. 107-108.

Journal Articles from Physical Copies

(1) Author. (2) "Title of Article." (3) Title of Journal, (4) Volume Number, (5) Issue Number, (6) Publication Date, (7) Pages.

Pandey, Sanjay. "Methods of Various Citing and Referencing Style: Fundamentals for Early Career Researchers." Publishing Research Quarterly, vol. 36, no. 2, 2020, pp. 243-253.

Journal Or Database Articles from Online Sources that have DOI (Digital Object Identifier)

(1) Author. (2) "Title of Article." (3) Title of Journal, (4) Volume Number, (5) Issue Number, (6) Publication Date, (7) Pages. (8) DOI

Ard, Stephanie E. and Franklin Ard. "The Library and the Writing Centre Build a Workshop: Exploring the Impact of Asynchronous Online Academic Integrity Course." New Review of Academic Librarianship, vol. 25, nos. 2-4, 2019, pp. 218-143. https://doi.org/10.1080/13614533.2019.1644356

News Source Articles from Online Sources without Authors

(1) "Title of Article." (2) Title of News Source, (3) Day Month Year, (4) URL.

"Harini Logan wins National Spelling Bee in First Ever Lightning-Round Tiebreaker." The Guardian, 3 June 2022, https://www.theguardian.com/sport/2022/jun/03/national-spelling-bee-harini-logan-tiebreaker.

News Source Articles from Physical Copies

(1) Author. (2) "Title of Article." (3) Title of News Source, (4) Day Month Year, (5) Pages.

Piepenburg, Erik. "Ways To Celebrate Pride In New York." New York Times, 3 June 2022, p. C3.

 

Note: Works Cited or Reference pages will be double-spaced like the rest of the paper and they will also have a unique indent when text continues onto another line. When text continues onto the next line, the next line should be indented 1/2 inch. This is called a second line indent, reverse indent, or hanging indent. See the Hanging Indent tab for information on how to format your Works Cited page in Microsoft Word.

Article On A Website

(1) Author. (2) "Title of the Article." (3) Name of the Container, (4) Date Mon. Year, (5) URL.

Ito, Robert. "Zahn McClarnon Sets His Thousand-Yard Stare on the Lead." New York Times, 13 Jun. 2022, https://www.nytimes.com/2022/06/12/arts/television/zahn-mcclarnon-dark-winds.html

 

Book On A Website

(1) Author. (2) "Story Title." (3) Name of the Book, (4) Publisher, (5) Publication Date, (6) URL.

Bendix, Regina. "The World And The Chlaus." Progress and Nostalgia: Silvesterklausen in Urnasch, Switzerland, University of California Press, 1985, https://www.fulcrum.org/concern/monographs/cn69m4153.

 

Journal Article in a Database

(1) Author. (2) "Title of the Article." (3) Name of the Journal, (4) volume number, (5) edition number, (6) Publisher, (7) Publication Date, (8) URL.

Ard, Stephanie E. and Franklin Ard. "The Library and the Writing Centre Build a Workshop: Exploring the Impact of Asynchronous Online Academic Integrity Course." New Review of Academic Librarianship, vol. 25, nos. 2-4, 2019, pp. 218-143. https://doi.org/10.1080/13614533.2019.1644356

 

Digital Monograph with Author and Publisher

(1) Author Last, First. (2) Title of Website. (3) Website Publisher, (4) Date, (5) Website Address. 

Gagliardi, Susan E., and Constantine Petridis. Mapping Senufo. Emory University, 2020, http://www.mappingsenufo.org/.

 

Site Written and Published by an Organization

(1) Title of Website. (2) Website Publisher, (3) Date, (4) Website Address. 

Land Grab Universities. High Country News, 2020, https://www.landgrabu.org/.

 

Note: Works Cited or Reference pages will be double-spaced like the rest of the paper and they will also have a unique indent when text continues onto another line. When text continues onto the next line, the next line should be indented 1/2 inch. This is called a second line indent, reverse indent, or hanging indent. See the Hanging Indent tab for information on how to format your Works Cited page in Microsoft Word.

Book By One Author

(1) Author. (2) Title of Book. (3) Publisher, (4) Publication Date. 

Taylor, Mildred. D. Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry. Puffin Books, 1991.

 

Book By Two Authors

(1) First Author, and Second Author. (2) Title of Book. (3) Publisher, (4) Publication Date.

Nanua, Sasha, and Sarena Nanua. Sisters of the Snake. HarperTeen, 2021.

 

Book With More Than Two Authors

(1) First Author, et al. (2) Title of Book. (3) Publisher, (4) Publication Date.

ex: Clayton, Dhonielle, et al. Blackout. Quill Tree Books, 2021.

 

Book By An Anonymous Or Unknown Author

(1) Title of Book. (2) Publisher, (3) Publication Date.

Beowulf. Simon & Schuster, 2005.

 

Book By An Organization 

(1) Name of Organization. (2) Title of Book. (3) Edition, (4) Publisher, (5) Publication Date.

The Modern Language Association of America. MLA Handbook. 9th ed., The Modern Language Association of America, 2021.

 

Book With Editor

(1) Author(, et al). (2) Title of Book. (3) Edited by Name of Editor(s), (4) Publisher, (5) Publication Date.

Welsh, Irvine, et al. A Book of Two Halves: Football Short Stories. Edited by Nicholas Royle, Gollancz, 1996. 

 

Book With Illustrator

(1) Author(, et al). (2) Title of Book. (3) Illustrated by Name of Illustrator(s), (4) Publisher, (5) Publication Date.

de le Pena, Matt. Last Stop On Market Street. Illustrated by Christian Robinson, G. P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers, 2015.

 

Book On A Website

(1) Author. (2) "Title of Work." (3) Title of Collection. (4) edited by Editor Name, (5) vol. number, (6) Publisher, (7) Publication Date, (8) Page Number(s). (9) Resource Hosting the Book, (10) Resource Web Address or URL.

Poe, Edgar Allan. “The Masque of the Red Death.” The Complete Works of Edgar Allan Poe. Edited by James A. Harrison, vol. 4, Thomas Y. Crowell, 1902, pp. 250-58. HathiTrust Digital Library, hdl.handle.net/2027/coo.31924079574368.

 

Note: Works Cited or Reference pages will be double-spaced like the rest of the paper and they will also have a unique indent when text continues onto another line. When text continues onto the next line, the next line should be indented 1/2 inch. This is called a second line indent, reverse indent, or hanging indent. See the Hanging Indent tab for information on how to format your Works Cited page in Microsoft Word.

Photograph Viewed In Person

(1) Photographer Last Name, First Name. (2) Title of Photograph. (3) Date of Photograph, (4) Venue or Gallery Where Photograph Was Viewed, (5) City Where the Venue or Gallery is Located. 

Leibovitz, Annie. Kate Moss, Paris, 1999. 2021, Houser & Wirth Southampton, Southampton, NY.

 

Photograph Viewed Online

(1) Photographer Last Name, First Name. (2) Title of Photograph. (3) Date of Photograph. (4) Online Gallery Where Photograph Was Viewed, (5) URL.

Beals, Jessie Tarbox. Nanette. 1912. JSTOR, https://jstor.org/stable/community.12265076. 

 

Painting Viewed Online

(1) Artist Last Name, First Name. (2) Title of Painting. (3) Date of Painting, (4) Organization Website, (5) Website Address or URL. 

Barnes, Ernie. Sugar Shack. 1976, California African American Museum, https://caamuseum.org/exhibitions/2019/ernie-barnes-a-retrospectivelocale=en.

 

Untitled Image From A Print Magazine

(1) Image Creator Last Name, First Name. (2) Description of Image. (3) Title of Magazine, (4) Date Mon. Year, (5) Page On Which Image Appears.

Mills, Doug. Image of Judge Ketanji Brown Jackson raising her right hand. Ms., Spring 2022, p. 48.

 

Note: Works Cited or Reference pages will be double-spaced like the rest of the paper and they will also have a unique indent when text continues onto another line. When text continues onto the next line, the next line should be indented 1/2 inch. This is called a second line indent, reverse indent, or hanging indent. See the Hanging Indent tab for information on how to format your Works Cited page in Microsoft Word.

Performance of a Play Attended in Person

(1) Writer Last Name, First Name. (2) Title of the Play. (3) Contribution by Contributor's Name, (4) Production Company, (5) Day Mon. Year, (6) Performance Venue, (7) Venue Location.

ex: Brumm, Joe. Bluey's Big Play. Music by Joff Bush, Windmill Theatre Company, 18 Dec. 2022, Hulu Theatre, New York City. 

 

Concert Attended In Person

(1) Artist. (2) "Concert Tour." (3) Date Mon. Year of Concert, (4) Concert Venue, (5) Location of Concert Venue.

ex: DiFranco, Ani. "1997 Spring North American Tour." 26 Apr. 1997, Tampa Bay Performing Arts Center, Tampa, FL.

 

Note: Works Cited or Reference pages will be double-spaced like the rest of the paper and they will also have a unique indent when text continues onto another line. When text continues onto the next line, the next line should be indented 1/2 inch. This is called a second line indent, reverse indent, or hanging indent. See the Hanging Indent tab for information on how to format your Works Cited page in Microsoft Word.

Facebook

(1) Author. (2) "Text or Title of post." (3) Description of attached media. (4) Facebook, (5) Date Mon. Year, (6) URL.

New York Times. "The number of known Covid deaths in the U.S. will soon reach one million. Listeners of The Daily share memories." Photo of American Flags at half-mast. Facebook, 13 May 2022. https://www.facebook.com/nytimes/posts/pfbid02V7znGgRgbD5x2x

 

Instagram

(1) Author. (2) "Text of Post." (3) Description of attached media. (4) Instagram, (5) Date Mon. Year, (6) URL.

White, Betty. "The sun is shining on this beautiful Thursday… so here are some shiny and beautiful things to enjoy :)." Image of Emmy Awards and other awards. Instagram, 5 May 2022, https://www.instagram.com/p/CdMK4RjPccG/

 

LinkedIn

(1) Author Last Name, First Name. (2) "Text or Title of post." (3) LinkedIn, (4) Year, (5) URL.

Shah, Dharmesh. "How do you stay close to customers as your startup grows? Here are 3 things HubSpot has done...." Image of author and illustrated man from the lined video. LinkedIn, 2022, https://www.linkedin.com/posts/dharmesh_3-tips-to-stay-close-to-your-customers-as-activity-6937792109320032256--BSU?utm_source=linkedin_share&utm_medium=member_desktop_web.

 

TikTok

(1) Author [Handle]. (2) "Text of post." (3) TikTok, (4) Year, (5) URL.

Johnson, Dwayne [@theRock]. "Rock, meet Dwayne. Dwayne, meet The Rock." TikTok, 29 Apr. 2022, https://www.tiktok.com/@therock/video/7092144576495979818?is_from_webapp=1&sender_device=pc&web_id=7107664862871848494

 

Twitter

(1) Author [Handle]. (2) "Text of tweet." (3) Description of Attached Media. (4) Twitter, (5) Date Mon. Year, (6) URL.

Styles, Harry [@Harry-Styles]. "Burgers." Twitter, 14 Mar. 2016, https://twitter.com/Harry_Styles/status/709389141235130368?s=20&t=o1kACUasBZlLP_Dk4hnIcQ

 

Note: Works Cited or Reference pages will be double-spaced like the rest of the paper and they will also have a unique indent when text continues onto another line. When text continues onto the next line, the next line should be indented 1/2 inch. This is called a second line indent, reverse indent, or hanging indent. See the Hanging Indent tab for information on how to format your Works Cited page in Microsoft Word.

Song From An Album

(1) Artist. (2) "Song Title." (3) Album Title, (4) Record Label, (5) Year. (6) Format Type.

ex: DiFranco, Ani. “Joyful Girl.” Dilate, Righteous Babe Records, 1996. CD. 

 

Song From A Website

(1) Artist. (2) "Song Title." (3) Name of Website Hosting the Song, (4) Website Web Address or URL. 

ex: DiFranco, Ani. “Joyful Girl.” Bandcamp, https://anidifranco.bandcamp.com/album/dilate.

 

Note: Works Cited or Reference pages will be double-spaced like the rest of the paper and they will also have a unique indent when text continues onto another line. When text continues onto the next line, the next line should be indented 1/2 inch. This is called a second line indent, reverse indent, or hanging indent. See the Hanging Indent tab for information on how to format your Works Cited page in Microsoft Word.

Movie Viewed In Person

(1) Title of Movie. (2) Directed by Director Name, (3) Production Company, (4) Year Movie Was Produced.

Encanto. Directed by Jared Bush and Bryon Howard, Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures, 2021.

 

Movie Viewed Online 

(1) Director Last Name, First Name. (2) Movie Title. (3) Production Company, (4) Year, (5) Name of Website Hosting the Source, (6) Name of Website Channel, (7) Date Mon. Year Source Was Uploaded, (8) Website Web Address or URL.

West, Betsy, and Julie Cohen directors. RBG. Storyville Films and CNN Films, 2018. YouTube, 16 Apr. 2022, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pocltMh4nBU.

 

Television Show Viewed On Physical Media

(1) "Episode Title." (2) Series Title. (3) created by Name of Creator, (4) season number, (5) episode number, (6) Production Company, (7) Year. (8) disc number (9) Media Format.

"Why We Fight." 2001. Band of Brothers, Created by Tom Hanks and Steven Spielberg, part 9, HBO Studios, 2006, disc 5. DVD.

 

Television Show Viewed on A Streaming Service

(1) "Episode Title." (2) Series Title, (3) season number, (4) episode number, (5) Production Company, (6) year. (7) Streaming Service, (8) Streaming Service URL.

"Twindependence." Black-ish. season 2, episode 15, ABC Television, 2016. Hulu, www.hulu.com.

 

Note: Works Cited or Reference pages will be double-spaced like the rest of the paper and they will also have a unique indent when text continues onto another line. When text continues onto the next line, the next line should be indented 1/2 inch. This is called a second line indent, reverse indent, or hanging indent. See the Hanging Indent tab for information on how to format your Works Cited page in Microsoft Word.