Library: Northwestern Nursing: News &amp; Views &amp; Studies

Library Databases recommended for Nursing

CT State Northwestern Library databases provide access to peer-reviewed research articles, news articles and more! The information found in these databases will likely be the bulk of your academic research!

CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window CINAHL is a database of citations and abstracts for journal articles and other materials on nursing, communication sciences and disorders, and allied health sciences. This authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers provides indexing for 2,960 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health with more than 2,000,000 records dating back to 1981. View the EBSCO Search Tutorial Video
Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window This comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.  Full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia; perfect for researchers at all levels with more than 1,000 medical journals, periodicals, and articles from more than 2,200 general-interest publications, medical newspapers, newsletters and news feeds and hundreds of streaming videos. 
Health Source: Nursing and Academic Edition This link opens in a new window This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. It includes nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, and medical law. It also features the AHFS (American Hospital Formulary Service® Drug Information) Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.  View the EBSCO Search Tutorial Video 
ICE Video Library (with Stroke Help Collection) This link opens in a new window ICE (International Clinical Educators) has been a leader in healthcare education since its founding in 1983.  ICE Learning Center Videos are professionally filmed and feature actual patients and clinicians demonstrating practical and effective treatment ideas, including including acute care, skilled nursing, outpatient, home health and ICU. This video collection includes StrokeHelp: Functional Treatment Ideas & Strategies and StrokeHelp: Treatment Strategies in Acute Care. 
You must create an account using your college email to access this resource.
If you cannot find the program you are in from this list when you create your account, please select any program: Program (OT, OTA, PT, or PTA).
For new faculty accounts, CT State Faculty must reach out to your local librarian to gain access to ICE Faculty Zone.
Interactive Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window This database allows you to examine virtual 3D dissections and immerse yourself in interactive research. You can separate over 4,300 anatomical structures from the body to reveal layers and anatomical relationships, and visualize more than 13,500 landmarks. You can also isolate different regions and systems, zoom in, zoom out, and rotate areas as often as necessary to fully comprehend critical information. Artistic renderings provide detailed visual clarity. The database can be used for in-classroom demonstrations and help with homework or research assignments.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window MEDLINE with Full Text provides the authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences found on MEDLINE. The database includes full text for over 1,470 journals and citations for over 4,800 biomedical journals with subjects like Biomedicine, Pre-Clinical Sciences, Behavioral Sciences, Bioengineering, Health Policy Development, Life Sciences, Communication Disorders, Population Biology, and Reproductive Biology. View the EBSCO Search Tutorial Video
Science Reference Source This link opens in a new window Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Science Reference Source provides full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, reference books and high-quality videos. The database also contains science experiments, curriculum-aligned lesson plans, and a vast image collection. View the EBSCO Search Tutorial Video

Northwestern Search

Search Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.

PubMed

PubMed® comprises more than 35 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content.

PubMed

But also consider!

Your topic may also benefit from these non-article sources as well!

Films On Demand This link opens in a new window A streaming video service that provides access to over 38,000 instructional and documentary videos from producers such as Films for the Humanities & Sciences, HBO, CNBC News, ABC News, PBS, BBC, Cengage Learning, Meridian, and others.
Kanopy BASE Collection This link opens in a new window A collection of over 10,000 educational and feature films and documentaries in the Kanopy BASE collection range from core curricular subjects like Race and Class Studies, Sociology and Education, to subjects that cater to the whole student like Mental Health, Psychology and Health and Fitness. Many films on Kanopy—including from iconic suppliers like the BBC, NEON, Samuel Goldwyn Films, HISTORY, A&E, First Run Features Kino Lorber and IFC Films—are unavailable elsewhere.

Northwestern Campus Library

Northwestern Nursing

Library Databases recommended for Nursing

Northwestern Search

Search Google Scholar

PubMed

But also consider!