For more than twenty years, this indispensable resource has been the reference of choice for psychologists, researchers, teachers, and students who need up-to-date and comprehensive information in the fields of psychology and behavioral science. Updated and expanded to include much new material, this paperback is the only reference source that effectively blends psychology and behavioral science. This edition features over 1,200 entries, sixty percent of which are substantially revised or altogether new; contributions from over seven hundred experts from around the world; a bibliography of over 10,000 citations.

Edited by high caliber experts, and contributed to by quality researchers and practitioners in psychology and related fields. Includes over 500 topical entries Each entry features suggested readings and extensive cross-referencing Accessible to students and general readers Edited by two outstanding scholars and clinicians

With over 11,000 entries, this authoritative and up-to-date dictionary covers all branches of psychology. Clear, concise descriptions for each entry offer extensive coverage of key areas including cognition, sensation and perception, emotion and motivation, learning and skills, language,mental disorder, and research methods. The range of entries extends to related disciplines including psychoanalysis, psychiatry, the neurosciences, and statistics. Entries are extensively cross-referenced for ease of use, and cover word origins and derivations as well as definitions. Over 80illustrations complement the text.In addition to the alphabetical entries, the dictionary also includes appendices covering over 800 commonly used abbreviations and symbols, as well as a list of phobias and phobic stimuli, with definitions.Comprehensive and clearly written, this dictionary is an invaluable work of reference for students, lecturers, and the general reader with an interest in psychology

Includes Online Database with Print Purchase. This newly updated set covers not only the history of the field and the core aspects of behaviourism, cognitive psychology, and psychoanalytic psychology but also diagnoses, disorders, treatments, tests, notable people, and issues, including many popular concepts. Essays address how culture, ethnicity, and gender affect psychological theory and beliefs. They cover topics such as multicultural psychology and the effect of culture on diagnosis, and other important and developing issues in psychology.

This book presents current research in the field of abnormal psychology. Topics discussed include self-harm in adolescence and young adulthood; depression and a parenting intervention; a hermeneutic approach to culture and psychotherapy; psychotic symptoms in children and adolescents; treatment approaches to aggressive behavior in schizophrenia; fetal origins of antisocial personality disorder; neurobiology of borderline personality disorder; patterns of interpersonal behaviors and borderline personality characteristics; the psychology of body image and borderline personality and sexual impulsivity.

This book presents and discusses current research in the study of depression. Topics discussed include depression in children and adolescents; depression comorbidity among children; depression vulnerability in middle and late childhood; antidepressants therapy and risk of suicide among patients with major depressive disorders; the overlap between depression and suicidal behaviour; monitoring of antidepressant therapy by using heart rate variability and gender differences in response to antidepressants.

This book presents current research in the field of psychology, with a particular focus on the classifications, influences and effects of personality. Topics discussed include the contribution of personality to positive psychology; narcissistic and borderline personality traits; personality traits and daily moods; schizotypal personality traits; the imaginary companion experience in adults; structural and functional neuroimaging of the anxiety-related personality trait; child and adolescent personality development and assessment and a psycho-social approach to meanings and functions of trait labels.

Addresses theories and concepts built on cumulative knowledge in four disciplinary areas- biology, psychology, social sciences, and policy and practice- as well as landmark advances in trans-disciplinary science. With its explicit focus on theory, the handbook is unique in providing essential knowledge about primary explanations for aging, spanning from cells to societies. The chapters in the third edition place a strong emphasis on the future of theory development, assessing the current state of theories and providing a roadmap for how theory can shape research, and vice versa, in years to come. Many chapters also address connections between theories and policy or practice.