The Donald R. Welter Library supports the research needs of students, faculty, staff and the community through the collection and maintenance of print and electronic resources and audiovisual materials.  The library provides access to print and electronic books, compact discs, audiobooks, DVD’s, online research databases and interlibrary loan services. Individual and group instruction on the use of library resources is available and research assistance is provided virtually and in-person.

Other resources in the library include computers, a photocopier and scanner, wireless internet access and group study rooms.  A limited number of laptop computers, hotspots, webcams, and headsets are also available for loan to currently enrolled students.  Books may be borrowed for 28 days and renewed in person or over the phone.  CD’s and DVD’s may be borrowed for two weeks. Instructor reserve materials may be borrowed for 2 hours for use within the library only.  Everyone borrowing library materials is responsible for returning the materials in good condition. If library materials are lost or damaged, students will be charged for the replacement of the item.  If overdue items are not returned, a block will be placed on the student’s account.

Circulating Collection

To borrow library materials, faculty, staff, students must present their college ID. Community patrons must complete a library card application to obtain library card and check out materials. Books may be checked out for four weeks and may be renewed in your online library account, in person, or by phone.

Periodicals

Consult the print periodical list and the e-journal list for titles and holdings. 

Reference Collection

Reference books are sources used to locate a specific piece of information. Reference books have “REF” above their call numbers are housed in the Reference area. Reference books are for in-house use only.

Course Reserves

Materials that are required reading or viewing in classes may be placed in the Course Reserves collection.

Other Print and Non-Print Collections

In addition to books and periodicals, the Learning Resource Center maintains collections of digital video discs and compact discs.

The Donald R. Welter Library is committed to providing resources and services that support and enhance the mission, goals and philosophy of the Three Rivers campus of Connecticut State Community College.

The Library fulfills its mission through the successful completion of the following objectives:

• Develop the library collections to meet the teaching and research needs of Three Rivers’ faculty, staff, and students.
• Support the instructional programs of the college by providing timely and relevant print and non-print resources for students, staff, faculty and the general public.
• Teach information literacy skills that will provide students with the ability to locate evaluate and use information to become critical thinkers and lifelong learners.
• Provide qualified and concerned staff committed to serving the needs of students, faculty, staff and the community.
• Provide facilities and resources that encourage innovation, learning and community service. Develop and implement instruments (e.g. surveys and focus groups) to assess library services on a continuous basis and subsequently make improvements to library services based on assessment findings.
• Strive to maintain sound fiscal planning and practice.