Gateway Community,

I hope everyone had a restful Labor Day Weekend. We now have access to 500 titles on Swank, a streaming platform with access to a wide variety of films.

The service includes feature films, documentaries, TV shows and more from 95 percent of Hollywood studios. It is available on both desktop and mobile, making it easy for students to access course-assigned content.

Swank

https://ctcsu.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://digitalcampus.swankmp.net/cscc398387

Faculty can request a limited number of additional films for instruction purposes.

Update:

ICE Learning Center has a  Faculty Zone. It has great resources for instructors. Let us know if you need access.

Thanks,

 

Curleen Elliott MLIS

Director of Campus Library Services

Gateway Community College

20 Church Street

New Haven, CT 06510

Prior emails about changes to library databases

Greetings Gateway Community,

WSJ digital is live. 

Create an account using your campus email.  Please add the link to your Blackboard, and email your students about signing up and downloading the app.  https://www.wsj.com/CTState

 NYT Digital is also available.  https://library.ctstate.edu/nytimes

The NYT and WSJ are delivered to your phone or computer daily.

Print Newspapers @ the library Fall 2023

• Hartford Courant
• New Haven Register

Curleen Elliott MLIS

Director of Campus Library Services

Gateway Community College

20 Church Street

New Haven, CT 06510

Prior emails about changes to library databases

Greetings Gateway Community,

I hope you are enjoying the NYT and Chronicle of Higer Education     digital experience.

Thank you for your feedback on our previous mailings about the changes to library services and resources this semester.  As you explore our new resources, please contact the library staff with your questions and concerns.

Phone: 203-285-2057
Text: 860-407-6081
Email: library@gatewayct.edu

We are available to help you navigate these changes. I would like to give a special note of thanks to the library staff for all their work in preparing for the fall. 

Here are the fall student and faculty library services handouts:

 Faculty              Students

Many of our URLs have changed.  The handouts have the new links to these updates.

Please note the change in library hours this fall.

Semester Hours On-Campus & Online:

Mondays – Thursday          8:30 am-8 pm

Friday                                    8:30 am -6 pm

This is our new homepage URL: https://library.ctstate.edu/gateway

See the handouts for additional information. I am available to meet or talk with anyone in the community about this process. Please let me know how we can help you this semester.

Thanks,

Curleen Elliott MLIS

Director of Campus Library Services

Gateway Community College

20 Church Street

New Haven, CT 06510

203-285-2053

Hi Gateway Community,

New York Times digital is now live. You need to use your work email to subscribe.

Link to subscribe to NYT at Gateway

If you instruct students or refer them to library material. What you need to do before fall ‘23: 

1. Update your URLs to databases in Blackboard and other student communications. The document from email #2 is updated to include the new URLs for Gateway’s databases.  VendorDatabase Key.xlsx These are permanent and will not be changed. Most of the old ones no longer work. This is a work in progress and URLs are added daily. Please contact the library if you have questions.

2. Contact Todd Hampton to set up a library information literacy session. It can be a brief session or your entire class period. We are making appointments to give professors time to add the library session to their calendar.

Todd Hampton thampton@gatewayct.edu  203-285-2615

Thank you,

Curleen Elliott MLIS

Director of Campus Library Services

Gateway Community College

20 Church Street

New Haven, CT 06510

203-285-2053

Good Morning Gateway Community, 

 Thank you for your feedback, questions, and responses to my first email about the library database transition process. Please find below a link to an excel sheet with the library databases list for the fall semester.

The first tab is the CT State databases list with resources available to all colleges. The second tab is the Gateway specific databases that depend on Gateway library’s budget. I have included the expiration dates for the Gateway databases.

 VendorDatabase Key.xlsx

Please contact me if you have any questions.

Curleen Elliott MLIS

Director of Campus Library Services

Gateway Community College

20 Church Street

New Haven, CT 06510

203-285-2053

Dear Gateway Community,

 

We started centralizing the CT State Community College Library databases. In this process, we will introduce new databases and discontinue others. Most of the library databases will be purchased by CT State Community College library for all 12 campuses. This change may pose challenges from now into the fall semester. However, we assure you that our primary goal is to provide you with resources and services that align with your academic needs.

You may notice some interruptions in service due to this update. Please contact us for assistance.

Phone: (203)285-2057

Text: (203)212-8329

Email: library@gatewayct.edu

What you need to know: 

  

• To facilitate a smooth transition, our library staff will be available to assist you.
• We are updating our library website to reflect these changes and provide detailed information about the new resources. 
•  We value your feedback and encourage you to share any concerns or suggestions you may have during this transition period. 

   

Best,

Curleen Elliott MLIS

Director of Campus Library Services

Gateway Community College

20 Church Street

New Haven, CT 06510

203-285-2053