Occupational Outlook Handbook
Published by the U.S. Department of Labor, the Occupational Outlook Handbook is a comprehensive resource that provides detailed information about hundreds of careers. You can explore job descriptions, average salaries, required education or training, job growth projections, and working conditions. It’s an excellent starting point for understanding what to expect in a specific career field.
Citation for OOH
Citation Format:
Bureau of Labor Statistics, U.S. Department of Labor. "[Title of page]." Occupational Outlook Handbook, [Date accessed], [URL]
Sample Citation:
Bureau of Labor Statistics: U.S. Department of Labor. "Food and Beverage Serving and Related Workers." Occupational Outlook Handbook, 5 October 2023, https://www.bls.gov/ooh/food-preparation-and-serving/food-and-beverage-serving-and-related-workers.htm.
Databases for Career Information
Our library databases offer access to a wide range of articles, reports, and ebooks on career development, workplace trends, and professional growth. Use these resources to find in-depth research on topics like job skills, industry outlooks, résumé writing, and more. They are especially helpful when you need credible sources to support your career research assignments.
-
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window This collection features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as The Economist and Sloan Management Review, country- and industry-focused reports and major news sources like the Wall Street Journal. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world, including expert market information and influential business news.
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.Indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals. View the EBSCO Search Tutorial Video
-
Business Insights This link opens in a new window Gale Business: Insights empowers users with the necessary tools to research and effectively interpret international business topics. Access more than 430,000 detailed company profiles with company financial data, in-depth country overviews, and comprehensive industry profiles to stay current with the ever-evolving business landscape.
-
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Business Source Complete includes full text business journals and magazines, such as the articles of Harvard Business Review, California Management Review, Sloan Management Review, as well as hundreds of other business journals and publications, covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more. This robust business database contains indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals. View the EBSCO Search Tutorial Video
-
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Credo Reference is a general knowledge database providing articles, images, charts, maps and other materials on thousands of topics. With 750+ searchable, full-text titles, Credo Reference places particular emphasis on subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also included are more than 1,100 short reference videos, more than 475,000 high-resolution art images, photographs, and maps across all subject areas.
-
New York Times Online Edition This link opens in a new window Requires creation of free account using campus email address. Use your free account to access popular features, such as Today's Paper, Currently Trending, Wirecutter, The Athletic, Games including The Crossword, Cooking, Recipes, The Learning Network, Opinion, Politics, The Daily (podcast), New York Times Video and TimesMachine, which provides page scans of every issue of The New York Times published between 1851 and 2002 in browsing and searching formats.
-
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window Regional Business News provides full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. You can search newspapers, magazines and other resources from trusted news sources. Content for Regional Business News is provided by leading publishers in business news including The Washington Post, PR Newswire US and more. Key resources include newspapers, radio and television news transcripts, trade publications, magazines and newswires. View the EBSCO Search Tutorial Video
-
SAGE Skills Business This link opens in a new window SAGE Skills: Business empowers students to develop and practice real-world skills needed to successfully transition from campus to the modern workplace through interactive self-assessment, virtual scenarios, downloadable data, and expert insights. Over 950 business skills topics are covered and enhanced with a range of engaging multimedia, including original videos, scenarios, data, and expert perspectives.
-
Wall Street Journal Online Edition This link opens in a new window The Wall Street Journal, a national daily newspaper publishing news, information, commentary, and analysis with an emphasis on business and financial news. This online version includes access to Barron's Magazine, MarketWatch and the WSJ puzzles and games. It includes coverage of U.S. and world news, education, politics, technology, real estate, sports, health, and the arts. Requires creation of free account using campus email address.
Helpful Career Resources Online
This section highlights reputable websites where you can learn more about specific careers, search for internships or job postings, and explore training programs.
-
Bureau of Labor StatisticsThis federal governmental site measure labor market activity, working conditions, price changes and productivity in the U.S. economy to support public and private decision-making.
-
Career One-Stop ToolkitYour source for career exploration, training and jobs. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor.
-
Connecticut Career PathsA CT Dept of Labor publication "created to provide the information needed to help learners, from youth to adults, make informed decisions about their career choice and preparation."
-
LearnHowToBecome.orgThis website contains information about how to conduct a job search, how to network and market themselves, and ultimately, how to land their dream jobs
-
O-Net OnlineThis site is the nation's primary source of occupational information. Its database contains hundreds of standardized and occupational-specific descriptors.
-
Occupational Outlook HandbookLearn about job responsibilities, salary, training, job prospects, education and more for occupations.
Personality Tests for the Right Job
Understanding your interests, strengths, and values can help guide your career choices. This section includes free and low-cost personality tests and career assessments that can help you identify potential career matches. These tools are especially useful in the early stages of career exploration.
-
123test - Career Aptitude TestThis test is based on the Holland Codes, a vocation choice theory that was developed by psychologist John L. Holland in the 1950s. Based on your personality type, you'll be given job suggestions that match. This test is particularly well suited to visual thinkers because it relies primarily on images rather than text.
-
The Keirsey Temperament SorterA powerful 70 question personality instrument that helps individuals discover their personality type.
-
My Next Move - O*Net Interest ProfilerThe 60-question Interest Profiler will help you determine what careers match your interests.
-
Truity – Career Personality ProfilerTruity’s site offers several free career tests based on the Holland Code and other systems. You read statements about job activities and select the degree to which you would like or dislike performing that work. You’ll also read statements about personality traits and indicate the degree to which they apply to you. The platform is user-friendly, the site offers multiple career tests, and the tests utilize a combination of methodologies and models.