Best Bets
Best Bets for Getting Started
- Academic Search Complete
This multi-disciplinary resource provides access to 8,500 full-text journals and magazines, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. - In Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Research key social issues and hot topics. Opposing Viewpoints offers a range of sources including viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, and primary documents. - U.S. Major Dailies
Provides access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal.
Not finding what you need? Browse the complete list or search below.
Background Research/General
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database.
-
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window CQ Researcher offers in-depth, unbiased coverage of political and social issues.
-
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Credo Reference is a general knowledge database providing articles, images, charts, maps, and other materials on thousands of topics.
-
In Context: Biography This link opens in a new window In Context: Biography covers international figures from all time periods and areas of study.
-
In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window Opposing Viewpoints offers material to support differing views to help develop critical thinking skills on thousands of current social topics.
-
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window Issues & Controversies helps researchers understand today's crucial issues by exploring hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture.
-
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window MasterFILE Premier provides full text for magazines, reference books, and primary source documents and an Image Collection with photos, maps, and flags.
-
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window The Oxford English Dictionary is the world's leading authority on the history and development of the English language since 1150.
-
TOPICsearch This link opens in a new window TOPICsearch is a current events database for social, political, and economic issues, scientific discoveries, and more.
Statistics and Data
-
SAGE Data This link opens in a new window Sage Data provides access to billions of statistical datasets across 16 topical areas, including Business, Education, Health, Criminal Justice and Law Enforcement, Government and Politics, and more.
-
Statista This link opens in a new window Use Statista for immediate access to over one million statistics and facts.
Arts, Communication, & Literature
-
Artstor This link opens in a new window Artstor features millions of high-quality images and media from some of the world's top photo archives, museums, libraries, scholars, and artists, including rare materials not available anywhere else. All content in Artstor is rights-cleared for education and research.
-
Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window Bloom's Literature contains a wide range of reference essays and scholarly criticism examining great authors and their works throughout history, as well as full-length videos of classic plays and films.
-
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window Communication & Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media.
-
Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window Grove Art features entries on artists, architects, craftsmen, patrons, movements, locations, and periods, as well as bibliographies for further research and thousands of searchable images made available through partnerships with museums, galleries, and other outstanding arts organizations.
-
Grove Music Online This link opens in a new window Grove Music Online is an online music encyclopedia, offering comprehensive coverage of music, musicians, music-making, and music scholarship.
-
JSTOR Archival Journal & Primary Source Collection This link opens in a new window This collection contains 2,877 high quality academic journals from across a wide range of disciplines and hundreds of thousands of primary source items.
-
Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window Literature Criticism includes analysis from book excerpts, periodicals, and more.
-
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window Find up-to-date biographies, overviews, full-text criticisms, audio interviews, and reviews on writers from all eras.
-
MagillOnLiterature Plus This link opens in a new window Magill On Literature Plus is a digital library database that provides access to a wealth of literary information, including critical analyses, plot summaries, character sketches, and author biographies.
-
MLA Handbook Plus This link opens in a new window Access the new ninth edition of the MLA Handbook online through the library. Browse or search the book online, get citation examples, view sample papers.
-
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window The Oxford English Dictionary is the world's leading authority on the history and development of the English language since 1150.
-
Shakespeare’s Globe on Screen - Housatonic Campus This link opens in a new window Showcases behind-the-scenes videos at the Globe, candid interviews with renowned Shakespeare actors and directors, controversial adaptations of the Bard, and more.
Business & Law
-
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window This collection features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as The Economist and Sloan Management Review, country- and industry-focused reports and major news sources like the Wall Street Journal. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world, including expert market information and influential business news.
-
Business Insights This link opens in a new window Gale Business: Insights empowers users with the necessary tools to research and effectively interpret international business topics. Access more than 430,000 detailed company profiles with company financial data, in-depth country overviews, and comprehensive industry profiles to stay current with the ever-evolving business landscape.
-
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Business Source Complete includes full text business journals and magazines, such as the articles of Harvard Business Review, California Management Review, Sloan Management Review, as well as hundreds of other business journals and publications, covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more. This robust business database contains indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals. View the EBSCO Search Tutorial Video
-
Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new window Criminal Justice Abstracts contains more than 400,000 records selected from the most important sources within the discipline. Subject areas covered include: criminology; criminal justice; criminal law and procedure; corrections and prisons; police and policing; criminal investigation; forensic sciences and investigation; history of crime; substance abuse and addiction; probation and parole. View the EBSCO Search Tutorial Video
-
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window IBISWorld, the U.S.A.'s most comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research and Industry Risk Ratings provides credible market research on thousands of industries worldwide to help businesses formulate better business proposals and marketing strategies. Each IBISWorld report covers industry performance, key products and markets, the competitive landscape, major companies, operating conditions, key statistics, and five-year forecasts. IBISWorld provides complete coverage of the US economy and also produces industry analysis on the UK, Australia, China, Canada, Ireland, and New Zealand.
-
Legal Information Source This link opens in a new window Legal Information Source contains more than 225 full-text publications and thousands of legal forms, with more content being added on a regular basis. This database provides online full text of top consumer legal reference books addressing a wide-range of legal issues including business & corporations, family affairs & divorce, immigration & travel, money & financial planning, patents, copyrights & trademarks, property & real estate, rights & disputes, and wills & estate planning. Many of these titles are published by Nolo, an established provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses. View the EBSCO Search Tutorial Video
-
SAGE Business Cases This link opens in a new window The SAGE Business Cases is a collection of more than 5,500 cases representing over 120 countries for transformative business research, including research methods for business and management, entrepreneurship, finance, marketing, leadership, business ethics and corporate social responsibility. Instructors, please contact your local campus librarian to receive a Sage Verification Code to access Business Cases: Teaching Notes.
-
SAGE Skills Business This link opens in a new window SAGE Skills: Business empowers students to develop and practice real-world skills needed to successfully transition from campus to the modern workplace through interactive self-assessment, virtual scenarios, downloadable data, and expert insights. Over 950 business skills topics are covered and enhanced with a range of engaging multimedia, including original videos, scenarios, data, and expert perspectives.
-
Small Business Source This link opens in a new window Small Business Reference Center offers exclusive full text for many top consumer small business reference books, as well as tools to address many small business topics. It includes business videos, a help and advice section and details on how to create business plans. It offers a collection of state-specific resources supported with demographic data and other local information. Business videos include interviews, “lessons learned” features, lectures and how-to videos to help foster success in all aspects of managing a business. View the EBSCO Search Tutorial Video
Health Sciences & STEM
-
Anatomy.tv This link opens in a new window Anatomy.tv is a self-guided multimedia learning resource to teach the mastery of anatomy and physiology. Students can rotate3D models of human anatomy and add and subtract layers.
-
CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window CINAHL is a database of citations and abstracts for journal articles and other materials on nursing, communication sciences and disorders, and allied health sciences.
-
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window GreenFile offers information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment, including content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
-
Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window This comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
-
Health Source: Nursing and Academic Edition This link opens in a new window This database provides full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. It includes nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, and medical law.
-
ICE Video Library (with Stroke Help Collection) This link opens in a new window ICE (International Clinical Educators) Learning Center Videos are professionally filmed and feature actual patients and clinicians demonstrating practical and effective treatment ideas, including including acute care, skilled nursing, outpatient, home health and ICU.
-
In Context: Science This link opens in a new window Gale In Context: Science spans the fields of biology, chemistry, physics, earth and environmental science, health and medicine, and math and technology.
-
Interactive Chemistry This link opens in a new window Gale Interactive Chemistry engages students and aids comprehension by pairing reference material with manipulable 3D models.
-
Interactive Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window This database allows you to examine virtual 3D dissections and immerse yourself in interactive research.
-
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window MEDLINE with Full Text provides the authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences.
-
Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and web sources with tools to track, analyze, and visualize research in the scientific research area.
History & Primary Sources
-
African-American History This link opens in a new window Hundreds of videos, as well as speeches, timelines, biographies, and countless informative articles that explore the full spectrum of African-American history and culture for the past 500 years.
-
American National Biography This link opens in a new window The American National Biography provides portraits of more than 19,000 men and women who have helped shaped the nation.
-
Biography Reference Source This link opens in a new window This resource contains a comprehensive collection of full-text biographies, as well as thousands of unique narrative biographies. Advanced searching tools include name, date of birth or death, profession, or country of origin, portrait or genre. You may also search by important historical eras, major wars, and historic leaders, Nobel Peace Prize Laureates, Musicians, Inventors, and other important roles.
-
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States This link opens in a new window “Black Freedom Struggle in the United States: Challenges and Triumphs in the Pursuit of Equality”. A free, open resource for students, educators and others who are researching U.S. Black history. The site features over 2,000 curated primary-source documents related to critical people and events in African American history. Featured subjects: Slavery and Abolitionist Movement (1790-1860), Civil War and Reconstruction Era (1861-1877), Jim Crow Era from 1878 to the Great Depression (1878-1932), New Deal and World War II (1933-1945), Civil Rights and Black Power Movements (1946-1975), Contemporary Era (1976-2000s).
-
History Reference Source This link opens in a new window Covering both U.S. and world history topics, History Reference Source is a full-text database featuring historical reference books, magazines, journals and thousands of primary source documents.
-
In Context: US History This link opens in a new window Gale in Context: U.S. History is an online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. Topics range from the arrival of Vikings in North America all to the way to the first stirrings of the American Revolution and on through the Civil Rights movement, 9/11, and the War on Terror.
-
In Context: World History This link opens in a new window Gale In Context: World History covers a range of topics such as Aztecs, Industrial Revolution, Silk Road, the Buddha, Space Race, and more, providing a wide perspective across the globe.
-
JSTOR Archival Journal & Primary Source Collection This link opens in a new window This collection contains 2,877 high quality academic journals from across a wide range of disciplines and hundreds of thousands of primary source items.
-
Ralph J. Bunche Oral Histories Collection on the Civil Rights Movement This link opens in a new window The Ralph J. Bunche Oral History Collection includes transcriptions of more than 500 interviews with those who made history in the struggles for voting rights, against discrimination in housing, for the desegregation of the schools, to expose racism in hiring, in defiance of police brutality, and to address poverty in the African American communities.
Psychology
-
DSM Library This link opens in a new window This collection contains full-text access to the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5) as well as the DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, DSM-5 Clinical Cases, the Spanish Edition of the Desk Reference to the Diagnostic Criteria from DSM-5, and the DSM-5 Handbook on the Cultural Formation Interview.
-
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window Delve into the science of psychology and behavior with APA PsycArticles, the database of full-text peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals (Coverage: 1894 - present; updated monthly). Specialty subjects include Psychiatry, Psychology, Psychopharmacology. View the EBSCO Search Tutorial Video
-
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
-
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window APA PsycInfo is a database that provides systematic coverage of the psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. The database also includes records from the 1600s and 1700s.
Education & Social Sciences
-
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window The Chronicle of Higher Education has the nation’s largest newsroom dedicated to covering colleges and universities. As the unrivaled leader in higher education journalism, they provide indispensable real-time news and deep insights, plus the essential tools, career opportunities, and knowledge to succeed in a rapidly changing world.
-
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, multilingual education, health education, educational psychology, school nursing, technology, curriculum and instruction, classroom management, supervision and administration and testing.
-
ERIC This link opens in a new window ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and research, and it contains over one million records of journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, and books.
-
Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new window Ethnic Diversity Source is essential to support the study of African Americans, Arab Americans, Asian Americans, European Americans, Jewish Americans, Latino/Latina/Latine Americans, Multiracial Americans, and Native Americans, among others, with respect to their cultures, traditions, social treatment, and lived experiences.
-
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window LGBTQ+ Source includes both scholarly and popular publications covering lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer issues, with comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBTQ+ Thesaurus containing over 10,000 terms.
-
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window Professional Development Collection is a highly specialized full-text database designed for professional educators, librarians and education researchers.
-
Sage Reference This link opens in a new window Provides access to hundreds of carefully selected reference titles on topics across the social sciences. Content includes handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and debates.
-
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window SAGE Research Methods supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process, from a quick dictionary definition, a case study example from a researcher in the field, a downloadable teaching dataset, a full-text title from the Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences series, or a video tutorial showing research in action.
-
Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and web sources with tools to track, analyze, and visualize research in the scientific research area. Elsevier Scopus curators seek out and ensure that only the most trusted, peer-reviewed scientific articles, books and conference papers are available on Scopus.
-
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window Teacher Reference Center (TRC) provides indexing, abstracts, and full-text articles, primarily for K-12 educators, teachers and librarians to grow professionally and support classroom success. Topics include, but are not limited to, Curriculum Development, Literacy Standards, Pedagogical Research, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Science & Mathematics, School Administration, and Higher Education.
Streaming Videos
-
Films On Demand This link opens in a new window A streaming video service that provides access to over 38,000 instructional and documentary videos from producers such as Films for the Humanities & Sciences, HBO, CNBC News, ABC News, PBS, BBC, Cengage Learning, Meridian, and others.
-
Kanopy BASE Collection This link opens in a new window A collection of over 10,000 educational and feature films and documentaries in the Kanopy BASE collection range from core curricular subjects like Race and Class Studies, Sociology and Education, to subjects that cater to the whole student like Mental Health, Psychology and Health and Fitness.
-
SAGE Video This link opens in a new window SAGE Video collections are created for use across higher education, to support pedagogical needs for undergraduate teaching and learning, through to higher level academic research. Through this collection, you have access to unparalleled publishing expertise, disciplinary knowledge, and exposure to leading experts in disciplines across Business, Education, Leadership, Nursing, Psychology, Social Work, and more.
-
Shakespeare’s Globe on Screen - Housatonic Campus This link opens in a new window Showcases behind-the-scenes videos at the Globe, candid interviews with renowned Shakespeare actors and directors, controversial adaptations of the Bard, and more.
-
SWANK Digital Campus This link opens in a new window Movie and TV Show Streaming Service which grants free access to Swank's Top 500 Films Collection. These films may be shown in class or linked in Blackboard, but Public Performance Rights are not included with the Library license purchased.
CT State faculty who wish to request SWANK films for their courses may do so by completing the Request Form.
Newspapers
Free Online Subscriptions
Register for access with your CT State email!
-
New York Times Online Edition This link opens in a new window Requires creation of free account using campus email address. Use your free account to access popular features, such as Today's Paper, Currently Trending, Wirecutter, The Athletic, Games including The Crossword, Cooking, Recipes, The Learning Network, Opinion, Politics, The Daily (podcast), New York Times Video and TimesMachine, which provides page scans of every issue of The New York Times published between 1851 and 2002 in browsing and searching formats.
-
Wall Street Journal Online Edition This link opens in a new window The Wall Street Journal, a national daily newspaper publishing news, information, commentary, and analysis with an emphasis on business and financial news. This online version includes access to Barron's Magazine, MarketWatch and the WSJ puzzles and games. It includes coverage of U.S. and world news, education, politics, technology, real estate, sports, health, and the arts. Requires creation of free account using campus email address.
Newspaper Databases
-
Hartford Courant (1992-current) This link opens in a new window Daily newspaper from Hartford, Connecticut. Coverage: 1992 - current. The Hartford Courant is the largest daily newspaper in Connecticut. Founded in 1764, it also is the oldest continuously published newspaper in the United States.
-
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window Provides cover-to-cover full text for 45 U.S. & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including the New Haven Register and New London Day. It includes newswires, news magazines, television and radio transcripts, news video clips, and more. It is updated daily with the most recent news. Wire sources include the Associated Press (AP), CNN Wire, PR Wire, UPI (United Press International), and Xinhua (China). Television and radio news transcript sources include ABC News (United States), ABC (Australia), CBC (Canada), CBS News, CNBC, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, MSNBC, NPR, and PBS.
-
U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window U.S. Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal. Search all of these newspaper titles conveniently in one search portal.
eBooks
-
Diversity & Ethnic Studies eBook Collection This link opens in a new window This subscription collection includes academic eBooks related to diversity, anti-racism, ethnic studies, disability studies, gerontology & age studies, migration studies, gender and sexuality studies, cultural studies, and religious studies.
-
eBook Central College Complete This link opens in a new window College Complete is a comprehensive ebook subscription that helps prepare students for academic and career success. This resource covers all academic subject areas and content for in-demand trade jobs. Gain access to content in traditional disciplines like business, management and nursing; emerging areas like artificial intelligence (AI) and criminal justice; and topics to support specific skills like advanced manufacturing, construction and healthcare.
-
EBSCO eBooks Academic Subscription Collection This link opens in a new window >Access a cross-searchable, multidisciplinary library of over 210,000 high-quality, unlimited-user e-books from leading university presses and academic publishers.
-
Overdrive eBooks and AudioBooks This link opens in a new window The Overdrive platform provides access to popular fiction and non-fiction eBook and audiobook titles, as well as selected Public Domain titles from the Duke Classics Collection.
-
Palace eBooks and AudioBooks This link opens in a new window The Palace Project App is a platform that gives you access to tens of thousands of digital ebook and audiobook titles from different publishers and sources. New titles are continuously being added to this collection. To view the available collection, download the Palace app and create a free account.
-
SAGE eBooks This link opens in a new window Sage Academic eBooks Explore the ultimate Social Science eBook Collection of over 5,000 titles, including books on nursing and health, media, communication, social studies, politics and leadership.
-
Very Short Introductions Online This link opens in a new window Oxford's Very Short Introductions offers concise and original introductions to a wide range of subjects. Each volume provides provocative, balanced, and complete discussions of the central issues in a given topic, giving a readable evolution of the subject in question. This includes free access to subject related blogs and podcasts.
eLearning
-
Peterson's Test and Career Prep This link opens in a new window Gale Presents Petersons Test and Career Prep provides you with standardized exam preparation, including practice tests, eBooks and online courses. Exams types include professional, civil service and military exams. Career prep includes professional career videos, an occupational database and career library, military crosswalks, citizenship, math, science, reading, writing skills and job search powered by Indeed.com. Access to Visual CV Resume Creator is also included.Please Note: an account is required to access this resource and save your progress in the prep material. An email address is not required, but highly recommended, to create an account.
-
SAGE Skills Business This link opens in a new window SAGE Skills: Business empowers students to develop and practice real-world skills needed to successfully transition from campus to the modern workplace through interactive self-assessment, virtual scenarios, downloadable data, and expert insights. Over 950 business skills topics are covered and enhanced with a range of engaging multimedia, including original videos, scenarios, data, and expert perspectives.
-
SAGE Skills Student Success This link opens in a new window SAGE Skills: Student Success empowers students to learn the practical academic and personal skills needed to thrive during their time in higher education and beyond. Dynamic multimedia modules focus on foundational skills across academic writing, critical thinking, information literacy, intercultural awareness, study strategies, and more.
en Español
-
EBSCOhost Espanol This link opens in a new window Spanish-language interface to select and search EBSCO databases. Información confiable para todo tipo de investigación. Con bases de datos de calidad y funciones de búsqueda, EBSCOhost ayuda a todo tipo de investigadores a encontrar rápidamente la información que necesitan.
-
Referencia Latina This link opens in a new window A comprehensive Spanish-language database with 49,000 encyclopedia entries; 50,000 images; 2,500 health reports; a Spanish-English dictionary and full text for over 100 reference books and dozens of general interest magazines in a broad array of subject areas. Its intuitive, theme-based Spanish-language interface is designed to make content readily accessible to non-English users with limited online research experience. Una base de datos completa en español con 49.000 entradas de enciclopedia; 50.000 imágenes; 2.500 informes de salud; un diccionario español-inglés y el texto completo de más de 100 libros de referencia y docenas de revistas de interés general en una amplia gama de áreas temáticas. Su intuitiva interfaz en español basada en temas está diseñada para hacer que el contenido sea fácilmente accesible para usuarios que no hablan inglés y tienen experiencia limitada en investigación en línea.