Search
Search Gateway Library Catalog
Selected Print Titles
Evaluating the Brain Disease Model of Addiction by
This ground-breaking book advances the fundamental debate about the nature of addiction. As well as presenting the case for seeing addiction as a brain disease, it brings together all the most cogent and penetrating critiques of the brain disease model of addiction (BDMA) and the main grounds for being skeptical of BDMA claims. The idea that addiction is a brain disease dominates thinking and practice worldwide. However, the editors of this book argue that our understanding of addiction is undergoing a revolutionary change, from being considered a brain disease to a disorder of voluntary behavior. The resolution of this controversy will determine the future of scientific progress in understanding addiction, together with necessary advances in treatment, prevention, and societal responses to addictive disorders. This volume brings together the various strands of the contemporary debate about whether or not addiction is best regarded as a brain disease. Contributors offer arguments for and against, and reasons for uncertainty; they also propose novel alternatives to both brain disease and moral models of addiction. In addition to reprints of classic articles from the addiction research literature, each section contains original chapters written by authorities on their chosen topic. The editors have assembled a stellar cast of chapter authors from a wide range of disciplines - neuroscience, philosophy, psychiatry, psychology, cognitive science, sociology, and law - including some of the most brilliant and influential voices in the field of addiction studies today. The result is a landmark volume in the study of addiction which will be essential reading for advanced students and researchers in addiction as well as professionals such as medical practitioners, psychiatrists, psychologists of all varieties, and social workers.
Call Number: Main Collection RC564 .E93 2022ISBN: 9780367470067Publication Date: 2022
Overcoming Addiction by
With an estimated 20 million people addicted to drugs or alcohol, North America is in the grip of an unrivaled epidemic. Overcoming Addition reveals how seemingly contradictory treatment theories must come together to understand and end dangerous substance abuse. Addiction treatment has become a billion-dollar industry based on innumerable clinical and psychological perspectives. Zealous clinicians and researchers have gathered around the theories, proclaiming each as the sole truth and excluding alternate views. In this book, leading bioethicist Gregory Pence demystifies seven foundational theories of addiction and addiction treatment. From Alcoholics and Narcotics Anonymous to methadone clinics and brain chemistry studies, each method holds foundation beliefs about human nature, free will, and biology. Understanding the diversity of these theories allows us to build a framework for more effective treatment for all addiction types. For individuals suffering from addiction, their families, and those who devote their lives to ending addiction's grasp on our society, this book offers a fresh perspective and a framework for long-term solutions.
Call Number: Main Collection RC564 .P46 2020ISBN: 9781538135037Publication Date: 2020
Undoing Drugs by
The untold story of harm reduction, a surprisingly simple idea with enormous power Drug overdoses now kill more Americans annually than guns, cars or breast cancer. But we have tried to solve this national crisis with policies that only made matters worse. In the name of "sending the right message," we have maximized the spread of infectious disease, torn families apart, incarcerated millions of mostly Black and Brown people--and utterly failed to either prevent addiction or make effective treatment for it widely available. There is another way, one that is proven to work. However, it runs counter to much of the received wisdom of our criminal and medical industrial complexes. It is called harm reduction. Developed and championed by an outcast group of people who use drugs and by former users and public health geeks, harm reduction offers guidance on how to save lives and improve health. And it provides a way of understanding behavior and culture that has relevance far beyond drugs. In a spellbinding narrative rooted in an urgent call to action, Undoing Drugs tells the story of how a small group of committed people changed the world, illuminating the power of a great idea. It illustrates how hard it can be to take on widely accepted conventional wisdom--and what is necessary to overcome this resistance. It is also about how personal, direct human connection and kindness can inspire profound transformation. Ultimately, Undoing Drugs offers a path forward--revolutionizing not only the treatment of addiction, but also our treatment of behavioral and societal issues.
Call Number: Main Collection HV5825 .S948 2021ISBN: 9780738285764Publication Date: 2021
The Urge : Our History of Addiction by Call Number: Main Collection RC438.6.F57 A3 2022ISBN: 9780735237025Publication Date: 2022
eBook Databases
- Diversity & Ethnic Studies eBook Collection This link opens in a new window This subscription collection includes academic eBooks related to diversity, anti-racism, ethnic studies, disability studies, gerontology & age studies, migration studies, gender and sexuality studies, cultural studies, and religious studies. The collection utilizes outside resources and scholarship to ensure that the collection remains up to date and aligned with current research.
- EBSCO eBooks Academic Subscription Collection This link opens in a new window Access a cross-searchable, multidisciplinary library of over 210,000 high-quality, unlimited-user e-books from leading university presses and academic publishers such as Cambridge University Press, De Gruyter, Elsevier, Harvard University Press, John Wiley & Sons, Oxford University Press, Sage Publications, State University of New York Press, Taylor & Francis, and University of California Press. These ebooks cover a large section of academic subjects and new titles are added the collection continuously.
- Gale eBooks - Gateway Campus This link opens in a new window Full-text encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
- SAGE eBooks This link opens in a new window Sage Academic eBooks Explore the ultimate Social Science eBook Collection of over 5,000 titles, including books on nursing and health, media, communication, social studies, politics and leadership.
