Library Databases
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.
- PsycArticles This link opens in a new window Delve into the science of psychology and behavior with APA PsycArticles, the database of full-text peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals (Coverage: 1894 - present; updated monthly). Specialty subjects include Psychiatry, Psychology, Psychopharmacology.
- PsycInfo This link opens in a new window APA PsycInfo is a database that provides systematic coverage of the psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. The database also includes records from the 1600s and 1700s. This database is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
- MainFile This link opens in a new window MainFile multi-disciplinary database with coverage of all aspects of academic study and general interest subject areas. Includes more than 4,300 full-text magazines and journals and nearly 250 full-text newspapers and newswires, and over 2,900 full-text reference books and encyclopedias. A general interest database with full-text magazine articles, newspapers, and books. Covers a wide variety of subjects such as health, education, current events, technology and business.
- MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window MasterFILE Premier provides full text for magazines, reference books, and primary source documents and an Image Collection with photos, maps & flags. MasterFILE Premier provides full text for over 1,800 general interest, business, consumer health, general science, and multicultural periodicals. In addition, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 2,500 periodicals.
- Hartford Courant (1992-current) This link opens in a new window Daily newspaper from Hartford, Connecticut. Coverage: 1992 - current. The Hartford Courant is the largest daily newspaper in Connecticut. Founded in 1764, it also is the oldest continuously published newspaper in the United States.
- Chicago Tribune (1985-present) This link opens in a new window The Chicago Tribune is a daily newspaper based in Chicago, Illinois, which keeps readers informed of the latest news from the Chicago area, the nation and the world every day. The Tribune has a reputation for investigative and public service journalism earning 24 Pulitzer Prizes since 1932. Includes complete full-text content of local and regional news, community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community.
- Los Angeles Times (1985-present) This link opens in a new window The Los Angeles Times is a regional American daily newspaper that started publishing in Los Angeles, California in 1881. Based in the Greater Los Angeles area city of El Segundo since 2018, it is the sixth-largest newspaper by circulation in the United States, as well as the largest newspaper in the western United States. The paper has won more than 40 Pulitzer Prizes.
- ResearchIT CT Newsstream This link opens in a new window Newsstream enables you to search current U.S. news content, regional newspapers as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. It delivers full-text news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites. Includes preferred access to content from The New York Times, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, CNN Newswires, and the Huffington Post.
- New York Times (1985-present) This link opens in a new window This ProQuest version of full-text articles from The New York Times newspaper (Coverage Dates: 1985 to Present) includes local, regional, national, and international news coverage, including archived articles. Alternately, if you are looking for access to The New York Times Online Edition, please create a free library account at https://library.ctstate.edu/nytimes
- Washington Post (1987-present) This link opens in a new window The Washington Post is an American daily newspaper published in Washington, D.C. It is regarded as one of the leading daily American newspapers The Post has distinguished itself through its political reporting on the workings of the White House, Congress, and other aspects of the U.S. government. It is considered a newspaper of record in the U.S. and has won 73 Pulitzer Prizes for journalism.
- Wall Street Journal (1984-present) This link opens in a new window This ProQuest version of full-text articles from The Wall Street Journal newspaper (Coverage Dates: 1984 to Present) includes local, regional, national, and international news coverage, including archived articles. Alternately, if you are looking for access to The Wall Street Journal Online Edition, please create a free library account at The Wall Street Journal Online Edition. The Wall Street Journal is an American business and economic-focused international daily newspaper based in New York City. The Journal is published six days a week.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Credo Reference is a general knowledge database providing articles, images, charts, maps and other materials on thousands of topics. With 750+ searchable, full-text titles, Credo Reference places particular emphasis on subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also included are more than 1,100 short reference videos, more than 475,000 high-resolution art images, photographs, and maps across all subject areas.
- Referencia Latina This link opens in a new window A comprehensive Spanish-language database with 49,000 encyclopedia entries; 50,000 images; 2,500 health reports; a Spanish-English dictionary and full text for over 100 reference books and dozens of general interest magazines in a broad array of subject areas. Its intuitive, theme-based Spanish-language interface is designed to make content readily accessible to non-English users with limited online research experience.Una base de datos completa en español con 49.000 entradas de enciclopedia; 50.000 imágenes; 2.500 informes de salud; un diccionario español-inglés y el texto completo de más de 100 libros de referencia y docenas de revistas de interés general en una amplia gama de áreas temáticas. Su intuitiva interfaz en español basada en temas está diseñada para hacer que el contenido sea fácilmente accesible para usuarios que no hablan inglés y tienen experiencia limitada en investigación en línea.
- Sage Reference This link opens in a new window Start your research with authoritative encyclopedias and handbooks in the social and behavioral sciences. Provides access to hundreds of carefully selected reference titles on topics across the social sciences. Content includes handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and debates.
- Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Science Reference Center provides full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, reference books and high-quality videos. The database also contains science experiments, curriculum-aligned lesson plans, and a vast image collection.
- Salem Press Reference Shelf - Gateway Campus This link opens in a new window A collection of reference text covering topics such as literature, history, science, health & careers plus a whole lot more.
Database Searching Instructions
Databases
Used to find articles from scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines and reference works
- Select one of the databases on the left
- Put in your search terms, example: impulse control disorder
- Scroll down and review limiters such as for “full text” and “peer-reviewed”
- Consider modifying the date range for example: 2009 to 2019
- Click “search”
- Click on an article title and use the tools on the right to print, email or to access the citation info for that article
- Articles can be printed, emailed or saved and citations can be generated
- When accessing the databases off campus, please follow the above steps. Once you click on a database you will be directed to log in to myCommNet before you can continue.