Books (print & electronic) are important sources of information when doing philosophy research. Some primary sources are available on the web at sites like Project Gutenberg. Looking for something written by a particular philosopher, do an author search.

• Online Books Page from UPenn
• Internet Classics Archive

  Select from a list of 441 works of classical literature by 59 different authors.

Browse the Tunxis Library shelves from anywhere. If you are in the library, the philosophy books are located behind the circulation area & offices.

• B - Philosophy
• B 108 - Ancient
• B 720 - Medieval
• B 770 - Renaissance
• B 790 - Modern
• BC - Logic
• BD 10 - General Philosophy
• BD 95 - Metaphysics
• BD 143 - Epistemology
• BD 493 Cosmology
• BJ - Ethics

Reference books are a good place to begin your research by getting a little background information on your topic.

• Encyclopedia of Philosophy

  Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

  From its inception, the SEP was designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public.
• Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy

  The purpose of the IEP is to provide detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy. The IEP articles are written by experts but not for experts.The staff of 30 editors and approximately 300 authors hold doctorate degrees and are professors at colleges and universities around the world, most notably from English-speaking countries.

   

Some selections from the print Reference Collection.

Encyclopedia of Philosophy
A major 10 volume encyclopedia in the field of philosophy. Available online or in print.
World Philosophers and Their Works
Clear introductions to 226 of the greatest world philosophers and 285 of their works.
Ethics
Over 1,000 essays on all aspects of ethics.
Encyclopedia of Ethics
Women Philosophers : A Bio-critical Source Book