Tunxis All-In-One Search: (Catalog + Online Resources)
Our Art Databases
- Artstor This link opens in a new window Artstor features millions of high-quality images and media from some of the world's top photo archives, museums, libraries, scholars, and artists, including rare materials not available anywhere else. Artstore has Open Access collections from partner museums freely available to all, in areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and educational purposes. All content in Artstor is rights-cleared for education and research.
- Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window The Grove Dictionary of Art is the unsurpassed authority on all aspects of the visual arts, with 30,000 signed and peer-reviewed articles contributed by nearly 7,000 international scholars. Grove Art features entries on artists, architects, craftsmen, patrons, movements, locations, and periods, as well as bibliographies for further research and thousands of searchable images made available through partnerships with museums, galleries, and other outstanding arts organizations.
Using Background Sources
Background sources will:
- define terms, theories and persons in the field
- help to get an overview of a topic
- lead to further reading options
Online Reference Sources
Reference Books in the Library
Encyclopedia of artistsCall Number: REF N 31 .E53 2000
Prestel dictionary of art and artists in the 20th centuryCall Number: REF N 6490 .P72 2000
Oxford dictionary of American art and artistsCall Number: REF N 6505 .M59 2007
Phaidon atlas of contemporary world architectureCall Number: REF NA 680 .P378 2004
Encyclopedia of sculptureCall Number: REF NB 198 .E53 2004
The Dictionary of Art
The Dictionary of Art is the foremost scholarly art encyclopedia, covering both Western and non-Western art. This 34-volume set encompasses all aspects of visual culture. It features over 45,000 signed articles on every aspect of the visual arts.
Art Magazines online in Flipster
You'll find current and past issues of these journals in our Flipster collection.