Skip to Main Content
Naugatuck Valley Campus Library
eBooks
101 Careers in Counseling by Shannon Hodges
This excellent career guide will be valuable for students, young professionals, and those interested in a second career in counseling. --Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries "In these challenging times, this book is an essential resource that provides reference material, insights, encouragement and open doors. It may also serve well to remind readers of what their profession is really all about."--Illness, Crisis and Loss This comprehensive and easy-to-use guide is an invaluable resource to help you choose a rewarding counseling career that best suits your interests, strengths, and personality. Exploring a wealth of career opportunities in both traditional and non-traditional settings, including the most exciting emerging fields, this useful reference describes the many benefits found in the work of a professional counselor. Each career listing includes an overview, salary range, employment prospects, best and most challenging aspects of the job, and educational and licensing requirements. In addition, the book helps guide you through financing your education and the job search process. As a special feature, chapters include profiles of actual counselors and their work, providing an insightful insider's perspective on their profession. Key Features: Explores 101 counseling careers, including careers in non-traditional and emerging fields Offers helpful career development tools such as checklists and questionnaires Includes salary range, employment prospects, and best and worst aspects of each job Provides guidance on educational requirements, licensure, and continuing education Highlights and profiles real-life counselors and their experiences
Careers in Mental Health by Kim Metz
Accessible and unbiased, Careers in Mental Health introduces upper-level high school students and beginning undergraduates to the different aspects of various mental health professions. Contains essential career advice for anyone considering an advanced degree in one of the "helping" professions within mental health Covers clinical psychology, counseling psychology, social work, counseling, marriage and family therapy, substance abuse counseling, and school psychology Clarifies the distinctions between professions by discussing the history and philosophy of each field, requirements for advanced education, licensing, available jobs, salary potential, and more Includes a section with practical information applicable to all the professions, such as characteristics for success, ethical issues, the importance of critical thinking, applying to graduate school, and current issues affecting the field of mental health
Majoring in Psychology by Jeffrey L. Helms; Daniel T. Rogers
Updated to reflect the latest data in the field, the second edition of Majoring in Psychology: Achieving Your Educational and Career Goals remains the most comprehensive and accessible text for psychology majors available today. The new edition incorporates the most up-to-date research, as well as recent changes to the GRE Reveals the benefits of pursuing a psychology degree and shows students how to prepare for a career or to continue with graduate study in the field Features a wide range of supplemental exercises and materials plus topical contributions written by national and international figures in their respective psychology subfields Online support materials for instructors include Powerpoint slides and test banks to support each chapter
Books in our Library
Career Paths in Psychology by Robert J. Sternberg
Now in its third edition, this bestselling volume has set the standard for students seeking to find an exciting career in psychology. Its comprehensive coverage spans more careers than ever, with the vast majority of chapters new to this edition. An advanced degree in psychology offers an extremely wide range of rewarding and well-compensated career opportunities. Amidst all the choices, this book will help future psychologists find their optimal career path. The chapters describe 30 different graduate-level careers (i.e., careers for those holding a PhD, EdD, or PsyD) in three distinct areas of endeavor: academia clinical and counseling psychology specialized settings such as for-profit businesses, nonprofits, the military, and schools . Each chapter explores a different career, including typical daily activities, the approximate range of compensation, advantages and disadvantages of the career, opportunities for employment and advancement, and how to plan one's educational and professional experiences to prepare for this specialty. The authors -- all highly accomplished professionals -- were selected for their years of experience, their distinction in their field, and their ability to communicate their passion.
Call Number: BF76 .C38
Finding Jobs with a Psychology Bachelor's Degree by R. Eric Landrum
Psychology is one of the most popular college majors and can lead to a satisfying career in many different fields. If graduate school is not in your immediate plans, this book is for you. It will show you how to leverage your bachelor's degree to find a career with intellectual, emotional, and perhaps even financial rewards. In this book, 28 professionals describe the scope of their work, level of career satisfaction, and how their bachelor's degree in psychology helped get them there. You also get a snapshot of salary, benefits, and day-to-day pleasures and challenges in a variety of jobs as well as advice and questions to help you reflect on the classes, internships, experiences, and attitudes that will make you a success in your career of choice.In addition to the profiles, this book offers detailed instructions for how to use interest inventory and career search tools such as the Holland Self-Directed Search and O*NET database to refine your post-college plans. It candidly reviews best and worst strategies for resume building, job searching, and interviewing and offers up-to-date tips on how to combine personal networking and technology to get noticed. As a bonus, author Eric Landrum provides a backstage pass to the research behind this book, uncovering the process so you can appreciate the data or perhaps get some ideas for your next project.
Call Number: BF76 .L35
Majoring in Psych? by Betsy L. Morgan; Ann J. Korschgen
An accessible guide for all Psychology undergraduates. Focusing on the multiple ways that students can enhance their marketability while still in school, Majoring in Psych?: Career Options for Psychology Undergraduates, 5/e answers the career-planning questions most psychology majors find themselves asking.This student-friendly guide looks at psychology as both a discipline and a liberal arts degree from a career perspective. The authors have compiled information to help students demystify the process of career development. Using a question-and-answer format, this valuable resource shows students how they can take an early and active role in shaping their professional paths. The humorous, down-to-earth tone makes this book accessible to all students.
Call Number: BF76 .M67
