DATABASE ARTICLES, IMAGES, AND VIDEOS
Databases, etc.
These databases will be uniquely useful in your research. Remember that when you are on campus you will have direct access. When off-campus you will be prompted to authenticate yourself (as you would for myCommNet). You will then have access to all of the databases.
- Britannica ImageQuest - Housatonic Campus This link opens in a new window Search images for a vast number of artists, art objects, and architectural sites.
- Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window The Grove Dictionary of Art is the unsurpassed authority on all aspects of the visual arts, with 30,000 signed and peer-reviewed articles contributed by nearly 7,000 international scholars. Grove Art features entries on artists, architects, craftsmen, patrons, movements, locations, and periods, as well as bibliographies for further research and thousands of searchable images made available through partnerships with museums, galleries, and other outstanding arts organizations.
- Artstor This link opens in a new window Artstor features millions of high-quality images and media from some of the world's top photo archives, museums, libraries, scholars, and artists, including rare materials not available anywhere else. Artstore has Open Access collections from partner museums freely available to all, in areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and educational purposes. All content in Artstor is rights-cleared for education and research.
- In Context: World History This link opens in a new window A range of topics such as Aztecs, Industrial Revolution, Silk Road, the Buddha, Space Race, and more provide a wide perspective across the globe. Rare primary sources, reliable reference, and multimedia content are aligned to curriculum and put this vast subject into context for students. World History is cross-searchable with Gale In Context: U.S. History for users with access to both resources.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
- Films On Demand This link opens in a new window FILMS ON DEMAND is a very large searchable collection of educational films. Included are videos and segments that can help you explore many art forms, including clay ceramics.
- Kanopy BASE Collection This link opens in a new window A collection of over 10,000 educational and feature films from suppliers including PBS, Kino Lorber, and New Day Films.
