Help Finding the Career That's Right for You
A big part of CCS 1001 is helping you to find the right career for YOU.
With a career goal in mind, you can stay focused as you navigate through college and choose courses that best align with your goals. The Housatonic library has a lot of information to help you choose your career goals.
Find the Right Career
Personality Tests for the Right Job
- My Next Move - O*Net Interest ProfilerThe 60-question Interest Profiler will help you determine what careers match your interests.
- 123test - Career Aptitude TestThis test is based on the Holland Codes, a vocation choice theory that was developed by psychologist John L. Holland in the 1950s. Based on your personality type, you'll be given job suggestions that match. This test is particularly well suited to visual thinkers because it relies primarily on images rather than text.
- Peterson's Test and Career Prep This link opens in a new window
Gale Presents Petersons Test and Career Prep provides you with standardized exam preparation, including practice tests, eBooks and online courses. Exams types include professional, civil service and military exams. Career prep includes professional career videos, an occupational database and career library, military crosswalks, citizenship, math, science, reading, writing skills and job search powered by Indeed.com. Access to Visual CV Resume Creator is also included.
Please Note: an account is required to access this resource and save your progress in the prep material. An email address is not required, but highly recommended, to create an account.
Using the Occupational Outlook Handbook
Search Library Databases for Career Information
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete includes full text business journals and magazines, such as the articles of Harvard Business Review, California Management Review, Sloan Management Review, as well as hundreds of other business journals and publications, covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more. This robust business database contains indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals. View the EBSCO Search Tutorial Video
- Business Insights This link opens in a new window
Gale Business: Insights empowers users with the necessary tools to research and effectively interpret international business topics. Access more than 430,000 detailed company profiles with company financial data, in-depth country overviews, and comprehensive industry profiles to stay current with the ever-evolving business landscape.
- ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as The Economist and Sloan Management Review, country- and industry-focused reports and major news sources like the Wall Street Journal. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world, including expert market information and influential business news.
- SAGE Skills Business This link opens in a new window
SAGE Skills: Business empowers students to develop and practice real-world skills needed to successfully transition from campus to the modern workplace through interactive self-assessment, virtual scenarios, downloadable data, and expert insights. Over 950 business skills topics are covered and enhanced with a range of engaging multimedia, including original videos, scenarios, data, and expert perspectives.
- Peterson's Test and Career Prep This link opens in a new windowGale Presents Petersons Test and Career Prep provides users with standardized exam preparation, including practice tests, eBooks and online courses. Exams types include professional, civil service and military exams. Career prep includes professional career videos, an occupational database and career library, military crosswalks, and job search powered by Indeed.com. Access to Visual CV Resume Creator is also included. Please Note: an account is required to access this resource and save your progress in the prep material. An email address is not required, but highly recommended, to create an account.
Housatonic library also has a section of print books and materials to help you find a career. Stop by and we can point you to our Career Exploration section!
Helpful Career Resources Online
- Occupational Outlook HandbookLearn about job responsibilities, salary, training, job prospects, education and more for occupations.
- Connecticut Career PathsA CT Dept of Labor publication "created to provide the information needed to help learners, from youth to adults, make informed decisions about their career choice and preparation."
- O-Net OnlineThis site is the nation's primary source of occupational information. Its database contains hundreds of standardized and occupational-specific descriptors.
- Career One-Stop ToolkitYour source for career exploration, training and jobs. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor.
- LearnHowToBecome.orgThis website contains information about how to conduct a job search, how to network and market themselves, and ultimately, how to land their dream jobs
- Bureau of Labor StatisticsThis federal governmental site measure labor market activity, working conditions, price changes and productivity in the U.S. economy to support public and private decision-making.