What is a Database?
A database is an organized collection of information, typically stored and accessed online.
A complete list of all of the CT State databases can be found here.
Suggested Databases
- Films On Demand This link opens in a new window A streaming video service that provides access to over 38,000 instructional and documentary videos from producers such as Films for the Humanities & Sciences, HBO, CNBC News, ABC News, PBS, BBC, Cengage Learning, Meridian, and others.
- Kanopy BASE Collection This link opens in a new window A collection of over 10,000 educational and feature films and documentaries in the Kanopy BASE collection range from core curricular subjects like Race and Class Studies, Sociology and Education, to subjects that cater to the whole student like Mental Health, Psychology and Health and Fitness. Many films on Kanopy—including from iconic suppliers like the BBC, NEON, Samuel Goldwyn Films, HISTORY, A&E, First Run Features Kino Lorber and IFC Films—are unavailable elsewhere.
- Shakespeare’s Globe on Screen - Housatonic Campus This link opens in a new window Showcases behind-the-scenes videos at the Globe, candid interviews with renowned Shakespeare actors and directors, controversial adaptations of the Bard, and more. Highlights include: several filmed adaptations of Hamlet, from a 1940’s retelling to slapstick Shakespeare in Hamlet Stooged!; three filmed adaptations of Macbeth, including Gregory Doran's acclaimed RSC production, Sir Patrick Stewart's Macbeth, and Oz Frank's inversion of the classic: Voodoo Macbeth.
- Very Short Introductions Online This link opens in a new window Oxford's Very Short Introductions offers concise and original introductions to a wide range of subjects. Each volume provides provocative, balanced, and complete discussions of the central issues in a given topic, giving a readable evolution of the subject in question. This includes free access to subject related blogs and podcasts.
