Library: Norwalk CCS 1001: College and Career Success: Career Resources

Campus Career Resources

Occupational Outlook Handbook

Occupational Outlook Handbook
Learn about job responsibilities, salary, training, job prospects, education and more for occupations.

Citation:

Bureau of Labor Statistics, U.S. Department of Labor. "[Title of page]." Occupational Outlook Handbook, [Date accessed],
[URL]

Sample:

Bureau of Labor Statistics: U.S. Department of Labor. "Food and Beverage Serving and Related Workers." Occupational Outlook Handbook, 5 October 2023, https://www.bls.gov/ooh/food-preparation-and-serving/food-and-beverage-serving-and-related-workers.htm.

Find the Right Career

Using the OOH

Search Library Databases for Career Information

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Business Source Complete includes full text business journals and magazines, such as the articles of Harvard Business Review, California Management Review, Sloan Management Review, as well as hundreds of other business journals and publications, covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.  This robust business database contains indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals.
Business Insights This link opens in a new window Gale Business: Insights empowers users with the necessary tools to research and effectively interpret international business topics. Access more than 430,000 detailed company profiles with company financial data, in-depth country overviews, and comprehensive industry profiles to stay current with the ever-evolving business landscape. 
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window This collection features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as The Economist and Sloan Management Review, country- and industry-focused reports and major news sources like the Wall Street Journal. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world, including expert market information and influential business news.
SAGE Skills Business This link opens in a new window SAGE Skills: Business empowers students to develop and practice real-world skills needed to successfully transition from campus to the modern workplace through interactive self-assessment, virtual scenarios, downloadable data, and expert insights.

Helpful Career Resources Online

Occupational Outlook Handbook
Learn about job responsibilities, salary, training, job prospects, education and more for occupations.
Connecticut Career Paths
A CT Dept of Labor publication "created to provide the information needed to help learners, from youth to adults, make informed decisions about their career choice and preparation."
O-Net Online
This site is the nation's primary source of occupational information. Its database contains hundreds of standardized and occupational-specific descriptors.
Career One-Stop Toolkit
Your source for career exploration, training and jobs. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor.
LearnHowToBecome.org
This website contains information about how to conduct a job search, how to network and market themselves, and ultimately, how to land their dream jobs
Bureau of Labor Statistics
This federal governmental site measure labor market activity, working conditions, price changes and productivity in the U.S. economy to support public and private decision-making.

Personality Tests for the Right Job

The Keirsey Temperament Sorter
A powerful 70 question personality instrument that helps individuals discover their personality type.
My Next Move - O*Net Interest Profiler
The 60-question Interest Profiler will help you determine what careers match your interests.
123test - Career Aptitude Test
This test is based on the Holland Codes, a vocation choice theory that was developed by psychologist John L. Holland in the 1950s. Based on your personality type, you'll be given job suggestions that match. This test is particularly well suited to visual thinkers because it relies primarily on images rather than text.
Truity – Career Personality Profiler
Truity’s site offers several free career tests based on the Holland Code and other systems. You read statements about job activities and select the degree to which you would like or dislike performing that work. You’ll also read statements about personality traits and indicate the degree to which they apply to you. The platform is user-friendly, the site offers multiple career tests, and the tests utilize a combination of methodologies and models.

Norwalk Campus Library

Norwalk CCS 1001: College and Career Success