Recommended Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window CQ Researcher offers in-depth, unbiased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on a wide range of topics including: health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, the U.S. economy, crime, and civil liberties. Access over 700 hot topics with pros and cons for your research papers and projects.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Credo Reference is a general knowledge database providing articles, images, charts, maps and other materials on thousands of topics. With 750+ searchable, full-text titles, Credo Reference places particular emphasis on subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also included are more than 1,100 short reference videos, more than 475,000 high-resolution art images, photographs, and maps across all subject areas.
- In Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window Designed to support global awareness, Gale in Context: Global Issues ties together a wealth of authoritative content that empowers students to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world. Users can explore issues within government, law, health, science and technology, society and culture, and more.
- JSTOR Archival Journal & Primary Source Collection This link opens in a new window The JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection contains all licensed JSTOR archival journals and primary sources content in a single collection, including Archive Journal Collections and thematic collections; specifically, it includes Arts & Sciences I – XV, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Jewish Studies, Life Sciences, Public Health, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, and Sustainability journal collections. It also contains four primary source collections, 19th Century British Pamphlets, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and Global Plants. This collection contains 2,877 high quality academic journals from across a wide range of disciplines and hundreds of thousands of primary source items.
- TOPICsearch This link opens in a new window Current events database for social, political, and economic issues, scientific discoveries, and more. Full text sources include international and regional newspapers, periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.
- Chicago Tribune (1985-present) This link opens in a new window The Chicago Tribune is a daily newspaper based in Chicago, Illinois, which keeps readers informed of the latest news from the Chicago area, the nation and the world every day. The Tribune has a reputation for investigative and public service journalism earning 24 Pulitzer Prizes since 1932. Includes complete full-text content of local and regional news, community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community.
- Hartford Courant (1992-current) This link opens in a new window Daily newspaper from Hartford, Connecticut. Coverage: 1992 - current. The Hartford Courant is the largest daily newspaper in Connecticut. Founded in 1764, it also is the oldest continuously published newspaper in the United States.
- Historical Hartford Courant (1764-1922) This link opens in a new window This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1764 - 1922. This resource includes The Connecticut Courant (1764-1774), Connecticut Courant (1778-1778), Connecticut Courant (1791-1837), The Connecticut Courant and Hartford Weekly Intelligencer (1774-1778), Connecticut Courant and Weekly Intelligencer (1778-1791), Daily Courant (1837-1839), The Hartford Courant (1887-1922), Hartford Daily Courant (1840-1887).
- Los Angeles Times (1985-present) This link opens in a new window The Los Angeles Times, abbreviated as LA Times, is a daily regional newspaper that started publishing in Los Angeles in 1881.
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window Provides cover-to-cover full text for 45 U.S. & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including the New Haven Register and New London Day. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
- New York Times (1985-present) This link opens in a new window New York newspaper with local, regional, national, and international news coverage. Includes backfile to the current issue.
- New York Times Online Edition This link opens in a new window Requires creation of free account using campus email address.
- U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window U.S. Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal.
- Wall Street Journal (1984-present) This link opens in a new window The Wall Street Journal is an American business and economic-focused international daily newspaper based in New York City. The Journal is published six days a week.
- Wall Street Journal Online Edition This link opens in a new window Stay ahead of the competition with the periodical that’s as ambitious as you are. Get the trusted insights and in-depth analysis you need from The Wall Street Journal, America’s most trusted newspaper—providing key decision-makers around the world with peerless reporting since 1889.Requires creation of free account using campus email address.
- Washington Post (1987-present) This link opens in a new window The Washington Post is an American daily newspaper published in Washington, D.C.
- ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window This collection features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as The Economist and Sloan Management Review, country- and industry-focused reports and major news sources like the Wall Street Journal. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world, including expert market information and influential business news.
- Business Insights This link opens in a new window Gale Business: Insights empowers users with the necessary tools to research and effectively interpret international business topics. Access more than 430,000 detailed company profiles with company financial data, in-depth country overviews, and comprehensive industry profiles to stay current with the ever-evolving business landscape.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Business Source Complete includes full text business journals and magazines, such as the articles of Harvard Business Review, California Management Review, Sloan Management Review, as well as hundreds of other business journals and publications, covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more. This robust business database contains indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals.
- Legal Information Reference Center This link opens in a new window Exclusive online full text for many top consumer legal reference books, full-text publications and legal forms, with more content added on a regular basis. Thousands of state-specific legal forms – searchable by top subject areas including Adoption, Bankruptcy, Name Changes and more.
- New York Times Online Edition This link opens in a new window Requires creation of free account using campus email address.
- NexisUni - Norwalk Campus This link opens in a new window "Designed with input from university students, Nexis Uni™is not just another database; it is academic research evolved."
- Regional Business News This link opens in a new window Regional Business News provides full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. Users can search newspapers, magazines and other resources from trusted news sources.
- SAGE Business Cases This link opens in a new window The SAGE Business Cases is a collection of more than 5,500 cases representing over 120 countries for transformative business research.
- SAGE Skills Business This link opens in a new window SAGE Skills: Business empowers students to develop and practice real-world skills needed to successfully transition from campus to the modern workplace through interactive self-assessment, virtual scenarios, downloadable data, and expert insights.
- Small Business Reference Center This link opens in a new window Offers readers a collection of state-specific resources supported with demographic data and other local information. Business videos include interviews, “lessons learned” features, lectures and how-to videos to help foster success in all aspects of managing a business.
- Wall Street Journal Online Edition This link opens in a new window Stay ahead of the competition with the periodical that’s as ambitious as you are. Get the trusted insights and in-depth analysis you need from The Wall Street Journal, America’s most trusted newspaper—providing key decision-makers around the world with peerless reporting since 1889.Requires creation of free account using campus email address.
- View a list of Norwalk Databases by Subject
- View a complete list of CT State Community College A-Z Databases
Tips for Finding Articles
Hint! If you're searching for articles from the NCC (re)SEARCH box on the library homepage use the filters on the left under "Tweak my results" to narrow your results to only include articles. You should definitely select the "Articles" filter. Other recommended, but not required filters are "Full text online" and "Peer-reviewed journals".
The "Full text online" filter will help ensure you only see articles you can read the full text of online.
To further narrow your results you might want to consider the "Peer-reviewed journals" filter. "Peer reviewed" is widely considered the "gold standard" for academic research because it means experts in the field reviewed the article and determined the information credible. Sometimes professors will require you to use peer-reviewed resources, so be sure to check your assignment details and remember this handy filter!