The CINAHL with Full Text database contains full-text articles from over 750 nursing and allied health related journals. It is a good place to search for evidence-based research on healthcare topics. On this page you will learn how to limit your results in CINAL to evidence-based research, including systematic reviews, randomized controlled trials, and case studies. Watch the quick-start video below to learn how to access the CINAHL database from the library homepage and limit to Evidence-Based Practice research. For step-by-step instructions, scroll down.

.

When researching complex topics, you will want to use multiple search terms to get the best results. Follow the steps outlined below to navigate to and search in the CINAHL database.

1. On the Norwalk Campus Library homepage, click on Databases by Subject. Under Nursing & Allied Health, click CINAHL with Full Text.

2. Once you are in the CINAHL database, make sure you are on the Advanced Search screen that displays multiple search boxes at the top. Enter your keywords into the search boxes.

• In the first search box, enter: arthritis OR osteoarthritis OR rheumatoid arthritis
• In the second search box, enter: pain management OR pain relief
• In the third search box, enter: physical therapy OR rehabilitation

3. On the Advanced Search page, you can limit your search to only articles based on Evidence-Based Practice. Scroll down and look for the checkbox labeled Evidence-Based Practice under Limit Your Results. 

Read further down the page for information on how to limit your search to specific types of research.

CINAHL contains many systematic reviews published in academic journals. Once you have set up your search, here is how you can limit your results to only systematic reviews in CINAHL.

1. Scroll down the page below the search boxes until you find the Publication Type box.
2. In the Publication Type box, select Systematic Review by finding it in the list and clicking on it.

3. Click on the Search button to run your search.

Randomized controlled trials are the studies commonly used to support systematic reviews and are considered to be a high level of evidence. Once you have set up your search, here is how you can limit your results to only randomized controlled trials.

1. Scroll down the page below the search boxes until you see Randomized Controlled Trials.
2. Click in the check box below Randomized Controlled Trials.

3. Then click on the Search button to run your search.

A case study, or case report, is a research method involving a detailed investigation of a single individual or a single organized group. Once you have set up your search, here is how you can limit your results to only case studies.

1. Scroll down the page below the search boxes until you find the Publication Type box.
2. In the Publication Type box, select Case Study by finding it in the list and clicking on it.

3. Click on the Search button to run your search.