Donald R. Welter Library Collection Development Policy

1. Introduction Donald R. Welter Library supports the information and research needs of students, faculty, staff, and the community by providing robust and diverse collections and services. This Collection Development Policy ensures that library resources align with the institution’s curriculum and academic goals while fostering lifelong learning, supporting equity, and contributing to the professional, academic, and personal growth of the college community.

2. Purpose This policy provides guidelines for the selection, acquisition, evaluation, and deselection of library materials to maintain a balanced, relevant, and diverse collection that supports the academic and personal growth of the college community.

3. Selection Criteria Library materials are selected based on the following criteria:

• Relevance to the curriculum and instructional programs
• Accuracy, credibility, and authority of the source
• Currency of information
• Level of scholarship appropriate for community college users
• Demand and anticipated use
• Diversity of perspectives and representation of different viewpoints
• Format suitability (print, digital, audiovisual, etc.)
• Cost and budget considerations

4. Gifts and Donations The library welcomes monetary gifts for the purchase of library materials that will supplement existing collections in support of the college’s curriculum.  Bulk donations are generally not accepted due to the staff time involved in evaluating, cataloging, processing and shelving items.  On occasion, donations may be accepted that meet selection criteria and must be donated with no restrictions on disposal. All donated materials must be in new or like-new condition, support academic programs, and not duplicate existing resources unnecessarily. The library does not provide an itemized list of donated materials and does not assign value to donated materials.  Donated items become library property and may be given away or discarded at the discretion of the library director or their designee.

5. Collection Maintenance and Deselection To maintain a relevant and effective collection, the library regularly evaluates materials based on:

• Usage statistics
• Physical condition
• Currency and accuracy of information
• Alignment with current curricular needs
• Availability of newer editions or alternative formats. Materials chosen for deselection may be repurposed, donated, or recycled following institutional policies.

6. Intellectual Freedom and Diversity The library upholds the principles of intellectual freedom and diversity, ensuring access to a wide range of ideas and perspectives. Materials are selected without bias and in alignment with the American Library Association’s Library Bill of Rights.

Reconsideration Policy 

Materials in the Donald R. Welter Library are selected to support the information needs of the Three Rivers Campus community. This requires the library to maintain a diverse array of perspectives in numerous fields of study that are or could be of interest to any and all members of the community. A person who wishes to request the reconsideration of library material must file a formal written request for reconsideration using the library-provided form. During reconsideration, the material will remain in circulation and available to patrons. The request will be reviewed by at least two librarians who hold Master in Library Sciences or equivalent degree. Together, these librarians will develop a recommendation that will be submitted to the Campus Library Director. The Campus Library Director is responsible for making the final decision. The recommendation and final decision will be based upon a thoughtful evaluation of the item in its entirety and material retention is predicated on the principles of patrons’ freedom to read, listen and view rather than the specific perspectives of the material in in question. 

Informal Complaint Procedure 

A patron who wishes to request the reconsideration of library material for any reason may meet with the Campus Library Director. If the patron is not satisfied after speaking with the library director, they may begin the process of filing a formal complaint. 

Formal Reconsideration Request Procedure 

A patron who would like to file a reconsideration request regarding a library resource must complete and submit a written request for reconsideration form. This written request will be reviewed by the Campus Library Director and Campus Dean of Students and Faculty, and a determination will be made in accordance with the library’s Reconsideration Policy. The patron will receive a final written response to the submitted request for reconsideration within 90 business days of the library receiving the request. Appeals of decisions to retain may be made to the Campus Dean of Students and Faculty within 30 days of receiving the final written response.